We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Certificate of Excellence
Bedfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed 25 November 2010

If you are looking for a first class hotel with outstanding service, then visit The Tontine, Peebles. We visit as a large group every November and we can't fault this hotel. The management and their staff are fantastic and we are looking forward to our visit in 2011. Thank you to everyone at the Tontine for all the hard work you all put in to making our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mx5fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    284
    46
    21
    8
See reviews for
134
447
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Once again the Tontine and all their staff made our week stay an great success.
This is now my 6th consecutive year at the hotel and our group has actually been staying here even longer than that.
It just keeps getting better year on year.
Knowing the staff well, its like home from home, with all the added boneses.
Its like having our very own Scottish Cuntry House.
The rooms, bar and restaurant are all great.
It is the perfect place to stay for a relaxing time.
Give it a go and I hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

Best regards
Paul Glenister
Shillington, Hertfordshire.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulGlenister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We visited the Tontine and stayed overnight following the annual dinner dance for our sailing club. The meal was excellent, especially as we are vegetarian, there were 2 choices and both were very good (melon with sorbet, delicious mushroom tart; vegetable basket and risotto). The wine (a Sauvignon and a Cote du Rhone) were both good and good value for money. The hotel staff were friendly and courteous. There was ample parking which was easy to find. The family room we had booked (we travelled as 2 adults and 2 teenage children) was in fact 2 rooms joined together, both on the small side but perfectly adequate, warm and clean. The bathroom was in very good condition. The room as at the front of the hotel, and there was surprisingly lively nightlife evident outside until around midnight, but this was the Hallowe'en weekend so perhaps to be expected. We had a full veggie breakfast the next morning, which we all enjoyed. As we had attended a function the night before, a special room and breakfast rate had been negotiated, which was excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgwiil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and had we been able to get hold of the Hotel we were travelling onto that would only have been 1 night. The Skirting boards were falling off the walls were half painted.
On the first morning when I ordered breakfast I was immediately informed there was a supplement, I had already read that on the menu!! When the breakfast came it was missing the englis muffin when i explained this I was told it didn't come with one!! When we pointed it out on the menu my Breakfast was taken away only for the same one to return 15 minutes later after my husband had finished his with a half toasted English muffin - I was STILL charged a supplement. The Reception area was nice and the afternoon tea lounge was nice, but the accommodation was awfull - I did say to my husband that it resembled an old peoples home.
It is in a good central location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamAndyandMrO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActivityBreaks, Public Relations Manager at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
We take complaints very seriously indeed and again have contacted the customer direct. We do have an on going room refurbishment programme and are in the process of upgrading all of our rooms. As a result of this complaint this room will now be the next to be refurbished. . As you will see the majority of our reviews are very positive indeed and we strive to offer all our guests a good experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

we arrived at the hotel expecting it to be good,id read some reviews earlier and it sounded fine, i was utterly disapointed,the first room we were shown, was shabby,in need of refurnshment,grimy small bathroom,mould growing around the bath,dark depressing tiles,poor lighting,ill fitting windows,peeling wallpaper,stains on the woodwork.lacking comfort. I asked to view another room,as i wasnt happy with the one we were given. The second room was no better,tread bare carpets,70s in style,very dated,the bathroom was alittle brighter,but still in need of a good clean!!!!!+ the room was at the front of the hotel,therefore very nosy,i could not close the ill fitting windows properly.At reception,i explained i wasnt happy-again.We were shown another room,which i gave in to the, it will do attitude,though it was far from perfect,more like digs, than a warm,comfortable,enjoyable experience. Broken tiles,condenstation running down the windows,causing puddles and staining the workwork.very creeky floorboards,stains on the valance and mattress(once you see ,one thing wrong,you search for more)the list was endless! i went out and bought cleaning products to satified myself,before i would step into the bath. It cost £75 PER PERSON PER NIGHT, for this shambles. bed and breakfast,evening meal..(Some things on the menu, you have to pay a supplement,i thought this was abit of a cheek), We had booked 3 nights, but i reduced this to 2.The food was good,and the location very central.overall poor.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mac12397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActivityBreaks, Public Relations Manager at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
We were really sorry to read this comment on Trip Advisor though we had already picked this up on your guest comment card and our Manager Geoff Mack has been liasing with you by email. We take customer complaints very seriously and want to assure you that we are dealing with this on a personal one to one basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We had our wedding here and it was fabulous, kate and her staff should be proud !
We stayed the night before our wedding and our wedding night too and could not fault it one bit.
21 other people at our wedding stayed the night too and nothing was too much trouble for the staff there in booking us in earlier than supposed to .
Kate even arranged for all of us to have breakfast together the next morning and it was a lovely breakfast too !
The staff were dancing in the kitchen too when our disco was on ! (sorry kate if have let this out of the bag lol )
All in all i would not hesitate one bit in recommending this to anyone and we hope to go back real soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActivityBreaks, Public Relations Manager at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Thanks for your feedback we really enjoyed hosting your wedding and we will feed this back to the Team. Congratulations again from all at the Tontine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Me and my collegue drove up from Newcastle on the way to Glasgow and discovered this really lovely hotel in Peebles. We arrived 8 ish and the hotel bistro was full on a tuesday. It lived up to its promise, we had great food and wine and a very good nihts rest. Breakfast was awesome as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyGDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ActivityBreaks, Public Relations Manager at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
Thanks for this positive report we pride ourselves in our service and the quality of our food product and it is great to receive such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.5 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,957 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
224 reviews
5.4 mi away
Traquair Arms Hotel
Traquair Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Innerleithen
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Property: Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Peebles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders Scotland
Peebles Tontine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing