We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“picturesque cottage in a great location”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tweed Cottage

Contemporary cottage central quiet  location. Free wifi and real log fire.  Peebles . Dining table 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Contemporary cottage central quiet  location. Free wifi and real log fire.  Peebles . Dining table 2
Contemporary kitchen. Glass hob. Microwave. Fridge freezer. Dishwasher. KIng bed . Laura Ashley.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
32 reviews
Contemporary cottage central quiet  location. Free wifi and real log fire.  Peebles . Dining table 2
Contemporary kitchen. Glass hob. Microwave. Fridge freezer. Dishwasher.
KIng bed . Laura Ashley.
Bathroom Shower over bath.
Complimentary Treats every visit .
Along small path to private garden patio area.
Eastgate section of Peebles High Street where cottage is situated down a lane.
Ruins of Neidpath Castle. Thirty minute walk from cottage along river.
River Tweed runs through Peebles, Borders.
The Bridge Inn Peebles. Lovely Beer garden.
Cademuir Valley Peebles.
Jim Jacks Fish and Chips Peebles, cooked fresh on order.
Town of Peebles . Photo Southside Photography Peebles
additional single bed in large bedroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
590debora...
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
“picturesque cottage in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Great cottage, well equipped and nicely decorated. Some great finishing touches to welcome us including chocolates, whisky and kitchen essentials. Contact with the owner ensured we were clear on how to find it and what to expect. Location meant we could walk everywhere and car parking off site was no problem. Plenty places to go for a drink or something to eat as well as take aways. Kitchen was so well equipped I happily cooked every night, Walking routes on the doorstep and a local gym meant I could try a couple of classes! Lovely shops, fresh bread, baker right across the road and supermarket an easy walk!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Decoration of cottage and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here and found the Cottage well equipped too. Yes I too love the fresh daily bread baked over at Forsyths and everything is so easy to walk to . Thank you , owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missorgan...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little hidden gem of Peebles.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a fabulous cottage tucked away behind the high street. Pictures on the website do not capture the olde world charm of the place mixed with a chabby chic interior, contempory kitchen and a real fire. Great wifi signal too :)
It is situated in a perfect location facing a church. It is reached by an alley with views of mountains which were snow capped in February when we stayed. Next door to a chemist and convenience store with a butcher and baker opposite. A tasty fish and chip shop, lovely restaurants, pubs and shops, a theatre, swimming baths and riverside walks and cycle paths. Simply perfect in every way. The only improvement we could suggest is a larger tv as the one in the cottage is laptop size but has an excellent picture.
Thank you very much Caroline for your most unusual welcome gift. We would love to buy this cottage you are lucky to own it.
We hope to return to visit Peebles in a different season and would chose this cottage again.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2014
Dear Miss Williams,
I am pleased to hear you had such an enjoyable stay and feel the photos don't do it justice. Thank you for your review and I will be very pleased to welcome yourselves and your son back to Tweed cottage Peebles. I will consider getting a bigger TV as you suggest the size is not too large as it fits neatly into the space without causing clutter. I do agree the location is so easy for getting about the centre of Peebles , buses directly into Edinburgh etc however it's a very quiet close. Just to note too, for readers, the church is silent , no bell ringing. Thanks again Caroline owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
Peebles, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We rented the cottage for two months as temporary accommodation whilst moving house. To say we were well provided is an understatement. Caroline, the owner, thoughtfully ensured we had everything we needed for a long stay. The cottage was warm and comfortable even in the winter period. It is clear that attention has been paid to equipping this small house with quality furnishings and facilities. The location, just off Peebles High Street could not be more convenient for shops and transport. Access to the surrounding area is so easy.
We now live in Peebles and would recommend Tweed Cottage most highly for holidays and temporary purposes.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the owner, who we have yet to meet.
Liked least: Walking in the rain.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2014
Thank you for your review. I have just joined this site and glad that all went well with you. I do try to put in extras such as quality mattresses, DVDs, speakers etc and a portable dvd player too amongst other things helping towards an enjoyable stay. Kind Regards, owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UB79110
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Dass das Cottage so zentral liegt
Liked least: Terrasse
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Thanks for your review. I look forward to seeing you both back at Peebles. Review translated .
Traveler rating: 5 of 5 stars
"Super-central and adorable"
Nov 16, 2014 A TripAdvisor Member
Tweed Cottage is beautifully decorated, clean and very centrally located. A great starting point for all activities in the area. Even without a car, everything is very simple: The bus stop outside the front door, good shopping nearby (supermarket, bakery ...), pubs, cafes, fast food around. The reception with cakes and other nice things, was very friendly. We will be back!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powered by
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing