We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Townhouse”
other travellers have booked this property
St.Margaret's occupies the ground floor of this pre-1820 home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St.Margaret's occupies the ground floor of this pre-1820 home.
Welcome! Please don't feed the lions! The bay windows look over the river Tweed towards Peebles.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
St.Margaret's occupies the ground floor of this pre-1820 home.
Welcome! Please don't feed the lions!
The bay windows look over the river Tweed towards Peebles.
Keeking out the front window.
Our bright, airy dining room / kitchen.
Our Swedish style, secure bike shed. A key is provided. Gate leads onto 15 acre park.
At the back door. Pick anything you wish.
Robert Burns: stone feature on the front of the property.
Walter Scott: stone feature on the front of the property.
The river Tweed over to the parish kirk - view about 150 yards from St.Margaret's
The Bridge Inn pub by the parish kirk. A two minute walk from St.Margaret's but how long back...
Following the River Tweed upstream.
Looking down the River Tweed to the Parish Kirk - about 5 minutes walk from St:Margaret's
Bagpipe band on High Street during Peebles' annual Beltane festival - mid June.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wilsonfam...
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Townhouse”
Reviewed 16 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the first week in August and as I had saw the last review I emailed the owner to ask about the garden as we planned on using it if the weather was nice and I got a full page reply from him on the same day. The kitchen was well equipped and lovely and bright due to the velux window and by no means smelly as the previous guest had suggested. My son who is 5ft 9 slept comfortably in the double sofa bed in the living room. The garden was lovely and had a new Table and chairs that we used. There is a gate at the end of the garden that leads on to victoria park which we used each morning to take our dog a walk. It is well situated for the town centre as it is only a short walk over the bridge and up a slight hill to the shops and restaurants and we will gladly stay again.
Could do with a small wardrobe or chest of drawers. And wifi and a larger tv would be a bonus

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunny kitchen and sofa
Liked least: No wardrobe or drawers in bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haffey67
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dismal dreary cottage”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

did'nt enjoy this cottage at all,glad it was only for 3 days.while it was clean enough it was very dark inside,you needed lights on if you were in,this was probably due to overgrown front garden where there was a bench to sit on if you enjoyed the foliage in your face,rear garden also overgrown 2 feet high grass.the flat was also cold probably due to north facing living room and needed heating if staying in,kitchen south facing but could'nt have breakfast in it because of horrible smell,could'nt decide if this was coming from carpet or sink.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: going out
Liked least: staying in
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanadianM...
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent self catering flat in perfect location”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a charming one bedroom ground floor flat in a perfect location, right across the bridge from the best pub in Peebles! We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay. The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen was extraordinarily well-equipped and all was lovely. The only problem was that we could not for the life of us figure out how to work the shower -- the owner did respond to my email quite quickly and even sent someone 'round to have a look at it, but it appeared to be broken and there was nothing that could be done for us. That was inconvenient but not calamitous. Add internet access and this place would be perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: lack of internet/wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
The Shower: the shower is of a very straight forward type. But if it turned off too tightly then when it is turned ON again it can be very difficult.

This is because the hot water in the shower expands the workings of the show on/off handle. So when it is turned off the workings cool and contract. So if it is turned off too tightly then it sometimes seems to 'lock' in the off position.

This is something that I'll bring to the attention of the guests in my introduction emails and I'll write a notice for the bathroom.

Yours aye,
Richard
Owner: St.Margaret's, Peebles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The one-bedroom flat was perfect for our needs (including a two-year old), and we enjoyed access to the garden and park as well as the flat itself. Peebles is a lovely little town, and a good base for exploring the surrounding area.

The heating wasn't working when we arrived, but one text message to the owner resulted in an immediate phone-call from him and an immediate solution to the problem. Very impressed.

Would certainly recommend the place to solo travellers, couples or a small family. The only possible improvement would be access to the internet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to town centre, and to extensive park.
Liked least: Lack of internet/wifi.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whyteWhyt...
whyteWhyte
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect location”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

great apartment ,convenient for the town and walks for the dog . couldn't fault it .lovely town will be back

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol w
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely half Scottish half swedish cottage”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Quaint little house with adequate kitchen facilities - very close to town and many walks from doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing