We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice and cosy little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly refurbished shower room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Newly refurbished shower room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Peebles, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LionsFrau...
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Nice and cosy little cottage”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a very pleasant stay in Dale cottage at Peebles. It s located in 5 Minutes walking distance from the center of Peebles and near shopping possibilities.
For two Person it is just perfect. The equipment fits all daily needs you may have.
Margot is an attentive and helpful host. Her suggestions of restaurants were excellent (see folder in the cottage).
We will for sure come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: located near center
Liked least: small extra bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Home from home" in a perfect location”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Dale Cottage with my dog Buddy for a long weekend at the end of September, and I thoroughly recommend it. The owner is welcoming, thoughtful, and accommodating. The cottage is well presented, and spacious for a 1 bed; it also has a large garden. And the location is perfect; either for walking, or just popping into town. You don’t need to use the car again after you’ve arrived, since there are so many varied walks from the door. It was my 4th time in Peebles, but 1st time staying in Dale Cottage, and I’ve already booked my next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel, nice welcome, great location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2016
Thanks for the lovely review Sarah, we're looking forward to seeing you and Buddy again in April.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourist95...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super wee cottage”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Set in quiet street five minutes walk from Peebles/ Lovely,cosy cottage with large kitchen diner and pretty enclosed garden. Nice owner Margot greeted us with welcome basket and showed us around. Everything we needed for week's stay. Stroll from Crosskeys lovely pub with fire for colder nights. Really enjoyed my stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review Julia. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you again in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShelleyC1...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage with everything you need.”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Dale Cottage is a super bungalow/cottage with a lovely garden. The cottage has everything you need and is tastefully decorated and wonderfully clean.
Peebles is also a lovely town, just the right size, with all local amenities and some lovely shops and restaurants, never mind the countryside.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again...if she'll let me!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The escapism of it
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2016
Of course I'd be delighted to welcome you back to Dale Cottage, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for leaving this lovely review and hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the garden, the river walks from directly behind the property.
Liked least: Parking (we have a VW sized campervan so did struggle a little some days), not the owner's fault.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Dale Cottage and hope to welcome you back again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Skeartes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I came to Peebles to visit family and get some R&R, and Dale Cottage was just what the doctor ordered! The cottage is cosy, clean and in a very convenient location (quick walk to supermarket, shops, and restaurants). I loved spending time in the large back garden, which has ample seating for friends, beautiful view of the river, and a fence for privacy. The fireplace made for very cosy evenings, and there were plenty of blankets for couch lounging. Even though the cottage is located in town, the street was never busy.

Because I work on the computer, fast internet is a must for me, and the cottage did not disappoint. All amenities were well kept and running perfectly, and we made great use of the large, secure storage area below the cottage for our muddy hiking gear. The kitchen was modern and spacious, and the shower had great pressure.

Margot was very helpful and made sure I knew what was nearby. There is a great info book inside the cottage itself as well. This spot is perfect for anyone who is looking for a relaxing getaway with great hiking and company. Everyone in Peebles was friendly and welcoming, I can't wait to go back. Next time we'll bring the dogs!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2016
Thanks for your lovely review, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you again and please do bring your dogs next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K
1 review
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Everything was great - however, my wife has arthritis and can't use stairs very well so she was slightly disappointed when she realised there were stairs to go down to the garden. The photograph of the back garden looked as though the door was to the inside of the cottage (it actually leads to the utility area). When we looked again at the picture after we arrived we could see the stairs but that was because we knew they were there - not too obvious in the photograph. This is not a complaint, just an observation, which would be insignificant to most guests - just not so good for arthritis sufferers. Other than that, everything else was wonderful. The cottage was, clean, comfortable and very welcoming.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry I wasn't there to meet you at the cottage to show you around. To avoid the steps down to the garden there is a path down the side of the house. Previous guests with mobility issues have used this way to access the garden. Thanks for making me aware of this, I will update the site to explain this to future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing