We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise, no other word for it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selkirk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Broadmeadows House Apartments
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise, no other word for it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

If you can find the right place to stay in Scoland the weather becomes immaterial.
We really fell on our feet this time. We stayed in the West Lawn Appartment which is the smallest appartment in the building, yet still it felt like we were lord and lady of the mansion. Lovingly restored and steeped in history this was a luxury break in every sense. So comfortable. So private. We immediately felt that we'd left our chaotic lives at home. Wonderful hospitality, everything we needed was there. Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic. Book with confidence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We're reluctant to leave a review for this wonderful house, would like to keep this gem of a find all to ourselves, but that would be selfish! If, like us, you're looking to escape the madness of life, then you'll not get better than here. We know the Borders well, and love it's walking. But finding this house has been the icing on the cake. The apartment is so well equipped, great big kitchen, open living room and wonderful bathroom. Beautiful views and we even managed to sit outside in the sunshine with a wee glass to enjoy the peacefulness. And the bunny rabbits got used to us by the time we sadly had to leave.
Dianne gave us a wonderful welcome, making us feel like old friends. The chocolate Easter bunnies were such a nice touch.
We climbed up to Loch Skean, the Eildon Hills and so much more.How nice to take our walking weary bodies back to this lovely house, soak in the large bath tub then curl up with your books. No TV - what a blessing.
Thank you Dianne, you guys have made a wonderful retreat, one that we just can't wait to get back to.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place was amazing. The pictures do not do it justice. We stayed in the uplands on the top floor and the views were spectacular. We will definitely be back. It was spotlessly clean and large living areas.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcmillan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a real gem in the Borders, a lovingly restored country Manor House. I would just like to thank Diane and Richard for looking after me so well. Having spent several weeks in this beautiful location, it is the memory that I will cherish with regard to my time in this area. I have stayed in both the Uplands and West Lawn apartments and neither dissapointed. The apartments have everything needed to make your stay both comfortable and enjoyable. The subtle attenion to detail gives it that 5 Star feel. I would have no hesitation in recommending this accomodation to either individuals or groups who are touring the area. Each apartment had plently of information on local events, restaurants and things to do. This is definately the place to stay!

Room Tip: West Lawn is great if you dont like stairs, Uplands Penthouse accessed by the stone spiral staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calico1880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Broadmeadows House is a magnificent period house restored by its current owner to its former glory. Its set on the hillside of Yarrowford in an area of spectacular tranquil beauty just 4 miles from Selkirk. We got a very warm welcome from Dianne the resident owner that included an in depth tour of our accommodation (West Lawn). Good parking for your car. I was familiar with the beauty and history of the area having stayed at the nearby Broadmeadows Youth Hostel as a teenager (yesterday) and knew of Broadmeadows House but I was not prepared for its transformation into lovely, comfortable, indeed excellent self catering accommodation. There are a number of apartments in the House; we stayed in the West Lawn, a very spacious apartment for two with every comfort you could wish for. Watch out - there's very good wi-fi but no TV signal, we didn't miss it but if you really like TV it could be problem. However Dianne has a huge selection of DVDs available for loan. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable...lends itself to relaxation squared!! The grounds are large and natural with a variety of wildlife present not forgetting a lovely pond with ducklings, mayflies and frogs. There are many walks nearby and plenty biking experiences with good storage for you (push) bike. In short we had a lovely holiday here; the accommodation was excellent and the support from the owner (if you need it) first class. Dianne can also arrange for high quality food delivery if you wish. It was super and we look forward to staying again soon!

Room Tip: The House is in a very quiet location so all rooms will be quiet. Some apartments have king sized be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Had an Amazing holiday at Broadmeadows. We rented the whole house for the family and every single person said they had a great time.
The house is better in real life than the website pictures and Dianne is the best host ever!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCHBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerpen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Hello

Back from a 10 night day holiday in scotland in the meadows house at selkirk

a real delight : history , culture, nature, edinburgh ...but mostly the real friendly atmosphere of the welcoming people over there: all people we met were warm , sympathic and welcoming .
Must say that our holiday was also a success thanks to Dianne and her "house"
I would prefer not to say house but something more superlative in describing this wonderfull and beautiful house : we lived on the uplands : the views were amazing. this "domain " has been taken cared by dianne and richard in a way that probably rescued the "house" and changed it in
a warm "home" and we were surprised by the rest of the "palace" Dianne showed us. Dianne and Richard ought to be proud what they accomplished and you can feel the "house" reliving by their hard work and care
I recommend this fully and Dianne is taken care of us as we were "long time friends" which made us not only glad to visit the environment but also glad to return to "our home"

Thanks a lot Dianne
We hope to see you again, we certainly be back in Scotland:it is so welcoming that you can't resist

Ria and Didier- St lenaarts - Belgium

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didier_brusselairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selkirk hotels
3.2 mi away
Best Western Pus Scottish Borders Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
3.7 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Broadmeadows Farmhouse B&B
8.1 mi away
Ettrick Valley Yurts
Ettrick Valley Yurts
#2 of 6 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
4.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 5 in Selkirk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadmeadows House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadmeadows House Apartments

Property: Broadmeadows House Apartments
Address: | Yarrowford, Selkirk, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Selkirk
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Broadmeadows House Apartments Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing