We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dairy Cottage

This charming little bolt-hole made just for two
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This charming little bolt-hole made just for two
A generous bathroom that is kitted out with Molton Brown toiletries A lovely double bedroom with king size bed which can be made into two singles if you prefer.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This charming little bolt-hole made just for two
A generous bathroom that is kitted out with Molton Brown toiletries
A lovely double bedroom with king size bed which can be made into two singles if you prefer.
In the heart of the rolling Scottish Borders countryside.
Open plan living complete with a cosy woodburning stove
we are keen to make things as easy and relaxing as we can for you.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Selkirk, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
caroleann...
Angus, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just returned after spending a week in this beautiful cottage set in a very peaceful location but well placed for visiting all the lovely border towns and villages. The log burner was on for us when we arrived in the rain and there was a fantastic welcome pack with lots of little extras, my husband especially enjoyed Alison's home made raspberry jam! The whole cottage is tastefully and luxuriously furnished with lots of special touches eg Molton Brown toiletries. The very comfortable bed is huge and we both slept very well. As the weather wasn't the best we made full use of the log burner with its unlimited supply of logs. We loved watching the wee lambs gambolling in the field in front of us! Alison and Brian are great hosts - friendly, helpful and welcoming. There are lots of books, games and DVDs available for entertainment - Dairy Cottage is a real home from home and we look forward to returning soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thank you for your kind and generous review. So glad you enjoyed your stay, hopefully next time the weather will be a bit better!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boyle645
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A fabulous cottage in a great location for exploring with peaceful surroundings. A real home from home with everything you could need and the fantastic welcome pack was lovely. The log burner and well stocked log basket was great on an evening. Lots of books, games and information leaflets available. Alison and Brian are very helpful and make you feel very welcome. Thank you for a great stay already looking to return for a longer stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davannda
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful little cottage”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a fantastic weekend at Dairy cottage. We arrived to find this cottage in a beautiful location. Nice and quiet with great views. Alison amd Brian are a lovely couple who welcomed us into there beautiful home. The log fire was on for us and the welcome pack was excellent. Homemade marmalade and jam,butter,milk,Selkirk bannock,bread and lots of other things. MoltonBrown toiletries to use and nice big fluffy towels. The bed was so comfy with nice cotton bedding. I could go on and on about this beautiful cottage. My husband and I had a great weekend and cannot wait to go back. Thank you for everything. Anne & David McNeill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, glad you were so happy with everything. We look forward to your next visit. Kindest regards Alison and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottJL91
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage in a fantastic rural location”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

This is a fantastically appointed little cottage in a gorgeous rural setting.

It has all the home comforts you need, and then some! The log burner and well stocked log basket is just what you need on a weekend away.

Coming in to a fire on its embers, to open the air flow and for it to light up enough to set a fresh log on, fantastic.

Arriving in to a fridge with milk and butter, along with a lovely loaf of break, Selkirk Bannock and some home made jam and marmalade (amongst other things!) is a great wee touch that just completes this property.

Myself and my partner only stayed for the weekend, but would gladly return again for longer

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
It was a pleasure to have you both to stay. We are glad you enjoyed being at Dairy Cottage. Sorry the weather was so dismal and glad you kept warm with the log burner! We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for your kind words, regards Alison and Brian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well appointed, tucked away and beautiful holiday let”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the most charming cottage let, log stove with a cosy friendly feeling. The cottage is in a fantastic location for access to long walks, cycle routes and hills. The owners are very helpfull and have a great looking property and make you feel very welcome.

Clean, great space and layout, and a useful dry room for boots and wet clothes after a days hiking. It's the most relaxing place at the end at the end of a day exploring, you can warm your bottle infront of the fire. Thank you for a great stay.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and it was a pleasure to welcome you to Dairy Cottage. We hope you will return before too long.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing