We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality home made food, delicious!”
Review of Cross Keys Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cross Keys Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We popped into this lovely country pub for a drink, without plans to eat, but whilst enjoying the drink, the aroma of fresh, homemade cooking was too much to resist, so we had dinner a bit earlier than we'd planned! It was delicious. It's a great wee place, very traditional, with staff who make you feel very welcome. There are lots of antiques, and unusual bits and pieces all around to look at, which open up all sorts of conversation, some reminding us of childhood and grandparents, which was lovely.
We'll be back, thanks to Margaret and her exceptional team!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have eat at restaurants all over Britain. By far the food and service in this quaint busy little inn by far meets and blows expectations out the water. The feelings towards the food is hard to put into words. Exceptional springs to mind, to top it off Staff were very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneRobertson95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is the most fantastic pub we have ever visited! Me & my partner came here most nights on our stay to Scotland. We unfortunately hadn't booked rooms here and were staying somewhere else ( 20 mins away). But we both agreed we would have much rather stayed here! The landlady was very chatty and helpful and accommodating. And the chef served the most amazing food we'd ever had. He had so many interesting stories and life ex ( Salmon was gorgeous, and my steak & Guinness pie was to die for! ) The whole experience was wonderfull, we felt valued, well cared for, and well fed. We will defiantly be coming back here again for a holiday, and it couldn't come soon enough! Thankyou so much!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Charming, traditional country pub with a great atmosphere and delicious food. Was there for lunch on Sunday 16 March 2014 and I must say it was one of the best meals I've ever had and very reasonably priced. Super, friendly staff and the Chef even made a few appearances from the kitchen to see if everyone had enjoyed their meals which was a nice touch.
Will definately be back regularly through the Summer months. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legaleagle777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very poor standard of accomodation, dated decoration which is in need of total of refurbishment,
Uncomfortable beds, inadequatelt sized baths, luke warm water, floor boads that bounce as you cross the room sending the tea making facilities bouncing!
this by the way is not refected in the cost of the accomodation which for some reason is higher that other better local establishments.
Very average food fare, who serves 'mothers pride' bread with soup these days? poor choice of wines.
A proprietor who thinks it is totally normal to accept guests and not tell them that he will be keeping the bar open until 2am with loud music and because the hotel (if you can call it that) is so poorly insulated you will not be able to sleep unless you are stone deaf - even toilet paper wedged into your ears made no difference.
As for breakfast, didn't even bother to try it, couldn't wait to leave!

Room Tip: don't bother, keep driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Staying in nearby Selkirk for the weekend, we asked friends living in the area for a good place to eat on the Sunday night - see my review of our Saturday night meal at A Taste of Spice in Selkirk!
The Cross Keys was recommended to us. The hotel is in the small , picturesque village of Ettrickbridge and is a former coaching inn with the traditional feel of a small country inn. The food was good and plentifull. I had a parcel of thin flaky pastry with tender juicy salmon, cream cheese and spinach, served with potatoes and green beans so delicious I asked a waitress to ask the chef how they had been cooked. The answer was with olive oil and garlic and baked in the oven. Tried it at home but wasn't as good! My husband had fish and chips- a huge piece of breaded fish which he pronounce very good. We only had one course as it was so filling, but the food was worth the drive from Selkirk. I can highly recommend this place for a delicious meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank marycEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Came here for a family meal for my grandads birthday. Good value for money in a nice relaxed atmosphere. Plenty of choice on the menu so even the fussiest of eaters (my grandad) can find something they will enjoy!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SharonBlackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selkirk hotels
5 mi away
The Gordon Arms - Yarrow
6.7 mi away
Tushielaw Inn
Tushielaw Inn
#3 of 9 in Selkirk
64 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
231 reviews
5.8 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 5 in Selkirk
183 reviews
5.4 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cross Keys Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys Inn

Address: Ettrickbridge, Selkirk TD7 5JN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Inn Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing