We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
County Hotel(Selkirk)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$76
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsknowes Hotel(Galashiels)
US$154
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
US$112
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Burt's Hotel(Melrose)
US$203
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Hotel(Selkirk)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
271
76
18
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
76
18
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssplit leveldeluxe roomjacuzzi bathboth nightsfabulous hotelcountry house hotelfirst classhigh standardscottish borderssmall balconybeautiful roomlocal areaon arrivallounge areapublic areasgrounds are lovelybreakfast and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this lovely Hotel. It is well situated for touring the Borders. On arrival we were impressed with the grounds which were very well tended, as was the Koi pond which we enjoyed looking at every day. On checking in we were made to feel welcome and that set the standard for our stay.. We were given a large room with a four poster bed which was great and the bathroom was superb with bath and separate shower plus a bidet. Both rooms were decorated and furnished to a high standard. The breakfast bar was well laid out with plenty of choice and a good choice for cooked breakfast. We ate one evening in the restaurant and the food was delicious and well presented.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. Last but certainly not least this hotel is spotless. The owners and their staff should be proud of their Hotel. We hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: We have a Best Western reward card and this time we had a free upgrade to a deluxe room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPhilipburn, Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Christine b, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay with delicious food at dinner and breakfast. Selkirk is an ideal base for touring the Borders being central to many of the other Border towns and places of interest. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip tot he Borders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

An excellent hotel, which we found to be perfectly situated for touring the Borders. Our four-poster bedroom was delightful, with an incredibly spacious en-suite bathroom. The food was delicious, with pleasant, professional service. We definitely hope to return in the very near future - we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank wright2clairew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPhilipburn, Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Wright2clairew, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the delicious food on your anniversary weekend. Selkirk is an ideal base for touring the borders being central to all the border towns and places of interest. We look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

II would recommend that the CEO's of some of our supposedly leading chain hotels spend a night here and see how an hotel should be run.
From the moment you drive in you will be impressed by the immaculately kept grounds, not a weed in site. This impression stays with you, as you enter the spotless reception area. The public rooms are in the style of an Austrian chalet, beautiful wooden ceilings, cosy tables with built in seating. The food is excellent and matched by excellent swift service. The resident proprietors are on hand and hands on, the staff are well trained and well motivated.
We stayed in room 15, one of the garden rooms, spacious and comfortable and of course spotlessly clean.
If you are touring the Scottish Borders no need to look any further, this is a great place to stay.
Paul Wignall
I would highly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPhilipburn, Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Mr Wignall, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the good food and service. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Borders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BWPhilipburn, Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is set in a lovely spot. It feels like you are in the country with sheep and cows literally a stones throw away. The gardens are spectacular and include an outside seating area. The hotel obviously puts a lot of effort into the grounds. In reality you are a 5 minute drive from Selkirk.

Rooms are spacious and the family room ( lodge) was perfect for a toddler with a small second bedroom. If I'm being picky the decor is a little dated but nothing to worry about. However I must say the shower is one of the most powerful I've every experienced.

The public areas are very nice with a comfy cosy feel. Nice sofas to relax on after your meal or having a coffee.

The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Breakfast service was a little patchy for some inexplicable reason. There were plenty of staff on duty.

Value I would say was average but I'm not sure of the going rate in this part of the world.

Overall I'd stay here again especially with a little child.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Will_HInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPhilipburn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Will_Hinverness, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. The gardens, patio and terrace are lovely at this time of year and always peaceful and relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews