We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
286
82
18
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
286
82
18
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews split level deluxe room fabulous hotel both nights jacuzzi bath first class high standard scottish borders small balcony both dinner and breakfast no lift two floors staff were attentive house hotel grounds are lovely lounge area local area
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2018 via mobile

Fabulous hotel a little way out of Selkirk set in lovely woodlands and gardens. We had a deluxe bedroom which was set over two floors with a balcony overlooking the gardens on both floors. The bedroom being on the upper level. The bathroom had a huge spa bath and shower. Breakfast was brilliant with s good choice and cooked to order. All the staff were friendly and efficient . We went into Edinburgh to see the Royal yacht which took us about an hour from hotel. Beautiful beautiful hotel.The only negative would be we thought the evening menu prices for food and wine on the high side although the food was good quality

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 471brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPhilipburn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Dear 471brenda, Thank you very much for your recent review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed a recent stay with us. We are pleased you found one of our Deluxe Mezzanine Rooms suited you for this break. Thank you for your comments regarding the welcoming and friendly staff. We hope to welcome you back to the Scottish Borders in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2018

amazing hotel and equally amazing staff. Stayed here for business and actually looked forward to returning to the hotel for a warm bath and good food. All the staff were attentive and friendly . The quality of the breakfast set me up for the day and the food in the lounge and restaurant was terrific. Well done to all of the staff.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPhilipburn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2018

Dear david d, Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed a recent visit to the hotel and look forward to staying with us. We are pleased you found the food and staff good and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

My husband and I thought this hotel was amazing,the decor,everywhere was lovely,the room we had was of a high standard.The restaurant,was beautiful,the food amazing.Great choice something for everyone and the price was very reasonable.All the staff where very helpful,pleasant and made you feel welcome.Certainly will be going back.10/10.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPhilipburn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear brenda w, Thank you very much for your recent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed dinner in our restaurant and found the room welcoming and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

We were visiting Galashiels and stayed at this hotel for one night.
It is a very clean and tidy hotel with the hotel staff very pleasant and obliging.
It is a warm and cosy place to stay and couldn’t fault it. It satisfied our requirements and would definitely stay here again if in area.
Breakfast selection was very good and cooked breakfast yummy.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PhilWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPhilipburn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear PhilWG, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and where able to enjoy our lovely breakfast. We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

No praise to high for Philipburn Hotel. Introduced sister to the Scottish Borders. Philipburn was the ideal base.First rate meals .First rate accommodation.Would have no hesitation in returning hopefully in the near future.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPhilipburn, General Manager at Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2018

Dear James S, Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant and found the accommodation comfortable. We would be delighted to welcome you all back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews