We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and quiet on the edge of Selkirk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Croft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Selkirk
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croft
Ranked #3 of 10 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet on the edge of Selkirk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This B&B was the second on our week's 65 mile walk on the Borders Abbeys Way - we had walked from Hawick and arrived in Selkirk mid-afternoon with the sun shining and aching limbs.

We were welcomed with a tray of tea and shortbread and sat in the peaceful back garden listening to the birdsong and trickling stream - so relaxing after a day on the hills.

Our beds were in a huge room and were very comfortable and the en-suite had a shower plus a full length bath which was greatly appreciated after such a long walk. The room had a tv, tray with kettle and teas/coffees and biscuits - we also had the use of a sitting room downstairs.

Our breakfast was excellent - local produce - and Jean looked after us so well throughout. Our boots were put in the boiler room to dry out and unlike other places, walkers were definitely welcomed! Indeed, the Borders Abbeys Way passes immediately to the rear of the house.

We were somewhat tired and couldn't face the walk down to town for supper - about 3/4 mile away - but it looks as if the owners accept the distance to walk as they were willing to offer crockery and so on if we wanted to order a take-away!

Selkirk is a lovely town - be sure to consider staying in this quiet B&B and enjoy the peace and proximity to Selkirk Hill which is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cymru-hillwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean F, Owner at The Croft, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm happy to give a lift into town and back if anyone requires it. I'll put a note of that in the visitor information for future reference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
27
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Homely very clean , comfortable room and a scrummy breakfast, our wee dog Nina had a fab time, and the owners couldn't do any more to make your stay more comfortable. We Will certainly ne back. To sample more of the Scottish produce used ay breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninabegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

what can i say , everything was perfect, from the warm welcome we recieved from Jean and her husband to the room, the breakfast, the scenery. A beautiful place with wonderful hosts. including the excitable Lucy. Who like it all just made our stay great.We will be visiting there again and making sure that The Croft will be our first port of call. Thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms speak for themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelasraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Jean was so friendly and helpful she made our stay a real pleasure. The room was clean and nicely decorated. Very generously sized and fitted the four of us comfortably. Beds were really comfy and the room had lovely views of the waterfall. Baby cot was brand new, purchased for our use, so thoughtful! Breakfast was really yummy! A really lovely b&b.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I had the pleasure to spend several times in the last years in this wonderful B&B. And I really recommend it very high. The house is quite old but from the look from outside you would never expect this spacious and lovely renovated inside. The rooms are very spacious too, very comfy and you feel like home from the first step inside. One room has a big bathroom for it's own with shower AND bathtub the other one is en-suite. Also you can see the lovely waterfall in the garden from the window of one room.The trays are very well assembled with coffee, tea, hot chocolate and delicious biscuits. Jean, the woman who runs this B&B is very warnhearted and she gives us always the feeling of being very welcome. Everytime we visited this B&B she was there to welcome us with fresh coffee and delicious shortbread. She was very helpful and gave us always a hand with the luggage, offers fresh milk for the coffee in our rooms and gave us many helpful tips for our visit. Her hospitality is priceless.
This place is the perfect place to relax after a long day full of impressions of the beautiful Scottish Borders. I just noticed now that The Croft is finally to find on Tripadvisor. Otherwise I would recommend this B&B much earlier.
Hope to come back soon again, thanks for everything Jean!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecosse68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean F, Owner at The Croft, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review. We always enjoy having you to stay at The Croft and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Booked this as the BB is dog friendly and its peaceful location. Situated just outside selkirk and down a small bumpy track which we were advised about you the reach the Croft which is an Oasis for birds and wildlife.

Jean welcomed us and Sam thats the dog, fresh tea was offered and asked if we would like fresh milk for our Room, which she placed in a cool bag for us.

Breakfast was offered at a time we wanted and not prescribed like most BB. The room was large clean and ideal.

We had a takeaway for our evening meal as we had the dog with us and Jean allowed us the dinning room and even set the table for us on our return. The lounge come breakfast room is warm and has a great view of the Garden and waterfall that comes down the garden

The Croft use Fairtrade Tea,Coffee and biscs which is a big Plus for me.

Would def recommend this hotel website is http://www.borderscroft.co.uk/

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weetedscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean F, Owner at The Croft, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure having you and Sam to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

My business partner and I and our 2 wives thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at the croft. With us occupying the 2 guest rooms we had the run of the place, including the guest sitting/dining room.
On arrival we were greeted by Jean with tea and biscuits before being shown to our comfortable, en suite rooms.
The croft is a dog and bird friendly B&B - and it was lovely just watching the huge variety of birds visiting the garden feeding stations - including even a Woodpecker!
Geoff had arranged for us to do a spot of fly fishing on Saturday and we had a lovely morning fishing on the Tweed - even though the trout were elusive.
A lovely evening meal in Selkirk at the recommended Indian restaurant was all we needed after our great Scottish breakfast.
Selkirk is a great base to explore the borders and we visited Jedburgh, Melrose, Moffat, Peebles & Kelso - all within easy driving distance from the Croft.
If you want a relaxing break I highly recommend the Croft.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteNylandWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean F, Owner at The Croft, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves. It was a pleasure having you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selkirk hotels
0.8 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 5 in Selkirk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Cross Keys Inn
Cross Keys Inn
#2 of 10 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ettrick Valley Yurts
Ettrick Valley Yurts
#2 of 6 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft

Property: The Croft
Address: The Croft Ladylands, Selkirk TD7 4PX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Croft is a dog-friendly, family friendly and environmentally friendly B&B on the outskirts of Selkirk, at the heart of the beautiful Scottish Borders. It is situated in a secluded location adjoining Selkirk Common and golf course. It has two en-suite rooms which are available as single, double, twin, triple or family rooms. It is 10-15 minutes walk from the town centre and there is ample private parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Croft Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing