We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
County Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

I spent a couple of nights at the County Hotel earlier this month while visiting to look at places we might move to in the area. I arrived very late on the bus, but it was no problem for the friendly woman at the desk. The room was spacious and pleasant, looking out onto the market square. The bed was very comfortable, and everything was nice and clean. I really enjoyed my stay and had supper in the restaurant as well, which was great. Selkirk is a great base for exploring the Borders. I spent an afternoon hiking around the edge of Ettrick Forest, which was really pleasant. And the price was very good, too.

Room Tip: My mobile phone only got signal if I was fairly near the window on the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    57
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
61
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Having not been in this hotel since I was a teenager I was pleasantly surprised on how in has been transformed into a very nice country hotel. Service from stepping through the front door to exiting on departure was first class and shall definitely return again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jan196029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

The Duty Manager (Young Lady, not sure of her name) was excellent and `genuine` in her friendly service (something that is rare to find these days). She was though rather stretched as other People have commented on and was serving at both the bar and restaurant and bringing out the meals!!!. She did this with a smile though, however, as a recommendation, they need more staff on and I am sure it will pay dividends with the extra drinks they sell.

The Brasserie was pleasant enough but cold (this really needs to be addressed and I cannot understand how they have not noticed or addressed this). To be fair, the afore-mentioned Young Lady turned a free-standing fire round towards us which was very good of her and another example of her overall service.

The bar area seemed a nicer environment and a great place to relax and have a drink in.

The food was excellent and this is why you should choose here (I of course cannot comment on the rooms as did not stay). They seem to specialise in seafood which is very fresh and tasty.

I would return and would recommend the County, however, with a few easy `niggles` addressed, it could be superb.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StevieRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights - our bedroom was huge, 2 double beds, a seating area and a bathroom. The service from the staff throughout our stay was excellent. The breakfasts were more than filling and of a very high standard. We ate in the bar area twice and again, the food and service was excellent.

We held a function there at lunchtime on the Monday and there was plenty food, coffee and tea for everyone.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone and if ever we are back in Selkirk, we would certainly stay there if there were rooms available.

Jan & Allan West

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan_West1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

From booking to leaving we had great service ,the food was very nice and room service at no extra cost we had a really authentic pizza in hotels Italian restaurant next door .Stayed in other hotels in Selkirk but this is the best by a long shot.ps the dogs loved it to!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123lindaiain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

What a great wee find. A group of us were passing through Selkirk on holiday and decided to stop for lunch. Luckily the Willow Brasserie was the first place we stumbled upon, although it isn't listed separately under tripadvisor. Great menu and modern decor, with a good bar and very reasonably priced wine list. Most of us decided to have burgers. There was a steak burger and a spicy bean burger to choose from. The people having the steak burgers said they were very tasty and welcomed the addition of onion rings and a 'bucket' of chips. The spicy bean burgers were also great. Moist and tasty with just the right amount of spice. At £10 each (surprisingly the bean burgers were priced the same as the steak burgers) and extra toppings at £1 and sauces at £2 these weren't the cheapest of burgers, but they were well worth the money. The mushroom sauce that I had on my burger was just superb. The scampi, by all accounts, was also great. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chookybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
134 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

My father & I spent two nights here, using it as a base to explore the Borders en route from Newcastle to Glasgow.

The hotel is actually quite small in terms of accommodation (only a handful of rooms), but it has multiple on site dining options (the bar serves food, there is a brasserie/restaurant and there is a pizza/pasta restaurant). This is important as there is literally NOWHERE else in Selkirk to go out for dinner - you only other option is take away. It seems like there used to be a couple of pubs that did meals but one had closed down completely and the other one had shut down the kitchen. Fortunately, we found the food & service at the hotel to be of good quality.

Rooms were bright and airy (big windows onto the town square), comfortable and clean with all amenities (tea/coffee, bottled water, free wifi). Also secure off street parking.

Selkirk is a small town, more set up for the locals than tourism, but - despite the pub closures - still a good choice if you plan to explore this area. And if you are going to stay in Selkirk, you won't do better than the Century Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateE006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
0.4 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Pus Scottish Borders Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
0.3 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
8.6 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: 3-5 High Street, Selkirk TD7 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing