We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunate Choice of Main Course” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
County Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Unfortunate Choice of Main Course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went here for a meal as we were staying in Selkirk for one night. Hotel itself looks lovely with a nice bar/lounge area with fire. Had our meal in the restaurant which had a water feature as you entered the restaurant and was well decorated with plenty of tables. It also had a large wheel propped up against the bar which was novel. There was a choice of set dinner menu or a la carte. We choose the set dinner menu which had a good selection of dishes and was reasonably priced. Our starters were delicious. However the main courses let our meal down. Didn't enjoy the chicken stew at all and my fiance had fish cakes which arrived like mush on the plate. We did mention this to the staff when paying our bill and they kindly refunded one of our main courses which was a lovely gesture from them. County Hotel has a very nice restaurant with a good choice of dishes on the menu. Staff are also courteous and friendly. We were just unfortunate in our choice of main meal. Would return again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gelascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    55
    20
    7
    3
See reviews for
33
59
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I've been here several times on business and have always been impressed with the hotel, the food and the attentiveness of the staff. This time my husband was driving, so I worked while he lounged! He said the breakfasts were the best he had ever had in a hotel. The food in the evening was equally delicious. Looking forward to returning in February!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper and bothered by traffic noise ask for a room on the 2nd floor so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a Thursday night as I had come to Selkirk to get fitted for a kilt for my wedding. We arrived with my parents (who also stayed) at about 8.30pm after a long drive in the rain and dark. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very nice, especially the homemade lentil soup. For the main course my Dad and I had goujons but when they arrived they were massive and looked more like huge bits of fish. That said, the fish was lovely and the batter was light and also very nice. The breakfast was also very good with the bacon being the best that I have eaten in years. The only downside was the size of the bathroom, it was very small and the shower was not great. My parents bathroom was fine and so maybe we were just unlucky.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Good things: helpful staff, excellent breakfast (recommend the kipper), we enjoyed the dinner and the service.
Not so good: be aware that this is right on the main A7 with associated traffic - big lorries a few feet away can be quite noisy. The room did not have double glazing. Also the window would not open (even if we wanted to), so the room was quite hot - and this was a coolish September day, I dread to think what it would be like in the real summer. Small bathroom but OK. Paint peeling off the window ledges give it a down-at heel feeling.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidfromDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Spent three nights with our 9 month old grandson whilst parents at a wedding. Lovely, clean and spacious deluxe king size double bedded room with large modern bathroom - grandson loved the shower! Meals were very good and gluten free catered for. Staff were very kind and helpful. Breakfast choices were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cartrefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just happened to randomly stop here 1 evening when out for a drive, with 2 hungry children we decided to park up and find somewhere to eat, from the outside this place looked perfect - and we wasn't wrong.
We was given a table and quickly brought our drinks, the wait for our meal was a long one, and with 2 children got a bit frustrating .
Once our meals finally arrived we was pleasantly surprised at the size and quality of the childrens food, same can be said for the adults meals, found it to be very good quality for the price and enjoyed every mouthful, was a very comfy and relaxed atmosphere.
When in the area again I will have no doubts about returning for another meal.

Room Tip: If your restricted by time this may not be a wise choice as food can take its time to find its way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 779Claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south queensferry
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Had lunch , great menu from either the main menu or the lunch deal, which we chose , two courses , three drinks for three people £39.00 cannot do better than that will be back. Staff very friendly excellent service

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank susiebellegolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
0.4 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: 3-5 High Street, Selkirk TD7 4BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing