We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short break experience!”
Review of Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great short break experience!”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights at the lovely Glen Hotel following a last minute special offer from the owners Steve and Antoinette. Can not praise them highly enough for the warm welcome, lovely room and excellent food. Very impressed by the lengths that Steve, who is also the chef, went to to accommodate my need for gluten free, pescatarian diet, which I had not forewarned him of as I am so used to doing without! He even cooked fish in a gluten free batter, which was excellent and the first time I have been able to eat battered fish since becoming gluten free. Staff also understood the need to avoid cross contamination. Looking forward to our third visit in May! Now a firm favourite hotel as it is so friendly and can find no fault!

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    55
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
105
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Uphall
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I had bought this Groupon deal for my mum, but she couldn't go and when I called the hotel at last minute asking to change from mid week break to weekend they were very accommodating. The owners were very nice throughout the whole stay. The hotel itself was nice, but a little old fashioned for my taste, but then again, it is an old manse house, so the decor was in keeping with this. The highlight was definitely the food! We had dinner in the hotel both nights and the food was very good, breakfast was too. Unfortunately it rained the entire time we were in the Borders, so not so good, but the hotel had a cosy fire in lounge & plenty of board games to keep you entertained.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Just got back from Scotland, all snowy and white. Stayed at the Glen Hotel in Selkirk and had a lovely couple of nights. Although there was snow outside, inside was warm and comfy with plenty of heat coming out of the radiators. We had gone up to play golf but the snow had made too chilly.
We ate in the hotel restaurant and the cooking is still, in my opinion, the best in Selirk if not the Borders. You are missing something if you haven't tried their sirloin steak, which has to be the best value around.
The hotel was full of Groupon customers and we were upgraded to the four poster bedroom. Great experience as we woke up to beautiful snow clad views down the valley.
The riverside walk in snow almost made up for missing a couple of day's golf.

Room Tip: Room 1, with the four poster bed, is located on a corner of the building and has the best views in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigblew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed here with my partner several weeks ago, using a Groupon voucher. The hotel has the feel of a rambling family home (right down to a curious and gentle dog), and I found it very charming.

The room had plenty of period features that were really lovely. However, it was very dusty. There was dust on the furniture, lamps, telly - even cobwebs on the curtain pelmets. I am allergic to dust mites, and went through a few allergy tablets and a lot of tissues during my stay! (I suppose I should have asked for the room to be cleaned again, or to be moved to another room, but wasn't willing to cause a fuss at the time.) Another issue - the smoke alarm was located directly above the bed and the tiny green light (to indicate it was in working order) managed to impart an eerie glow to all surfaces when the lights were turned off.

We had our evening meal in the restaurant on the second night, and enjoyed 3 courses - very tasty and reasonably priced.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Glen Hotel, and would be willing to stay again in future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2011JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Stayed Monday to Friday as part of a business trip - food menu was varied and delicious, couldn't fault the quality and everyone staying at the time were also complimentary of it. Relaxed atmosphere in lounge/bar of a night which was most welcome after a days work. Free wifi was also a bonus. Cost of room with great breakfast choice was certainly value or money. Good service given by staff and owners.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

A short break with our 3 yr old and 4mth old west highland terrier proved to be more relaxing and comfortable than we expected. The hotel and owners/staff made us all feel welcome and went out their way to make sure we were comfortable and all our dietary requirements were met, without fuss. We arrived thinking the stay would be a one off. We leave with the thought that we will be back and will bring family/friends with us. Good food, reasonably priced and certainly a nice break.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank maureen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Four of us stayed for a weekend in November and found the hotel warm, clean and well furnished with a superb choice of pescie/veggie evening dishes.

The owners, daughter and staff were very attentive and assisted by their own and fellow guests' dogs, the whole hotel had a very friendly atmosphere.

We are already in the process of arranging another visit early next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
8.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
929 reviews
15.1 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
9.0 mi away
Balcary House Hotel
Balcary House Hotel
#3 of 7 in Hawick
20 reviews
17.4 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Hotel

Property: Glen Hotel
Address: Yarrow Terrace | Selkirkshire, Selkirk TD7 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing