We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Do Better”
Review of Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely location.

Stayed for 3 nights on a B&B basis. Nice welcome. Our Room was clean and tidy. The food is soo good!

Shame that the Dining Room windows lacked any curtains. The bar left a bit to be desired, at best, service was poor, often serving white wine that had not been chilled.

I'm not a pet lover, but the poor dog that lives here does not look at all well, it can hardly get around the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 110,416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenofSelkirk, Owner at Glen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We don't usually offer a response to reviews as we understand that guests demands vary and what's great for one can be unacceptable to another. Hence we rely on the majority of reviews to determine how we're doing.......and as the majority are extremely complimentary we will keep things as they are.
Regarding Tess, our Weimaraner. Had this guest taken the trouble to enquire about the "unwell" dog, they would have learned that she's been with us for 14 years, suffers with chronic arthritis, yet still enjoys life and loves to amble round the hotel. She is adored by all of our pet loving guests. Not really a reason for ending her existence as this guest would infer. Perhaps understanding all of the facts would be advisable before offering an unqualified opinion? And that's just ours.........opinion, that is!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Great value, Although rooms were a little dated, they did have character and great views.Very comfortable beds. The food was very good. Steak was excellant and breakfast standard hotel fare. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

A warm welcome from a family run hotel. The hotel itself is traditionally decorated which now seems quite dated compared to other Scottish hotels. The room i stayed in was again decorated traditionally and was large. Bed was comfortable however the shower only had two temps; scorching hot or freezing cold. Reasonable free wifi coverage.

I paid £55 b&b on a Friday night which was very reasonable. Breakfast was disappointing as it did not start until 8:30 so as we had an early start a breakfast tray was left outside the door. Cornflakes, room temp milk, bread roll and jam in my mind is a rubbish breakfast and this was billed as 'continental'.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ingramgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Glen Hotel is a small country hotel in the Border town of Selkirk. We went on a Deal Monster deal. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean, well decorated and good-sized. We only had breakfasts but they were very tasty and well-cooked. One small point As a non-dog owner, the fact that dogs were allowed in the hotel was not a problem, but one small point, which was not the fault of the hotel itself, was that one of the guests had allowed their dog to foul the grass next to the carparking area and had not cleaned it up. We had a lovely weekend away from the hustle and bustle of normal life, made easier by the surroundings and the people we met.

Room Tip: We had a family room to the left at the front. Good sized room with nice view over the bridgetowards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marycEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We called in here for an evening meal on a Friday. It wasn't too busy, so we got a table, no problem.
There was a good selection on the menu, and a fair selection of house wines at £13.50 a bottle, although the white we got wasn't chilled enough!
The food was good and tasty, and the staff were friendly.
The place is a bit dated, like a lot of Scottish hotels, and I would agree with a previous poster, that the seating position is awkward, due to the height of the tables/chairs.
Overall though, a pleasant meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowgoose20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just back from our first stay at The Glens Hotel. Went courtesy of a DealMonster 3 night B&B voucher and expectations were totally exceeded in every way. The hotel itself has been well looked after - very tidy & comfortable, keeping its traditional victorian features. The room was a great size, with all the usual stuff - flat screen TV, modern ensuite, packs of biscuits to enjoy with coffee & tea. The real hidden gem is the food; so flavoursome and tasty and fresh. We ate in the hotel every night it was so good. Also the breakfasts were fab. Last but not least all the staff are friendly and genuinely helpful. Steve and Antionette really know how to look after their guests. No hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed at the Glen Hotel when after the second day of walking the Borders Abbey Way. The hotel is on the edge of Selkirk, about 10 minutes walk from the High Street. We had a good welcome from the friendly and helpful owner. The rooms were relatively basic but pleasant, clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant which was all in the same room as the bar and lounge area. The food was good and reasonably priced, although I found that the tables were strangely low with seating that wasn't entirely comfortable. Overall I thought that it was a decent little hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WNGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
15 mi away
Roxburghe Hotel & Golf Course
8.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
17.4 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
800 reviews
15.1 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Hotel

Address: Yarrow Terrace | Selkirkshire, Selkirk TD7 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Price Range: £85 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing