We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two night break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glen Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two night break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights when salmon fishing on the Tweed. There was a warm welcome, the food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner i had steak and the fish and chips which I could not fault .The room was comfortable, I had rm 2 with a king bed. For the money cannot really fault it. Will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uplands50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    52
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
101
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

2 nights B&B made for a relaxing, enjoyable time. Family-run, the hotel has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Food is excellent, homemade and fresh; definitely recommend the Thai curry! Well-positioned for the town-centre, but also to allow for riverside walks. This is 2nd time we've stayed at The Glen Hotel and hopefully won't be the last!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Had three nights here bed & breakfast in September and found it to be friendly, warm, welcoming, relaxing and comfortable.
We only ate here on the first night here because we had already decided to eat out on the other nights, but I now wish we had eaten here all three nights because the food was superb (wild boar sausages mmmmmmmmmmmmm), not that our others meals weren't very good it just that the glen's food was superior.
The views from our bedroom & the dining room are fabulous and with it being in Selkirk it was a good central base to get about.
I would be very happy staying here again and would not hesitate in recommending it to any of my friends & family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

the Glen hotel in Selkirk is a wonderful place to stay, full of old world charm. very clean and comfortable. We stayed there for the last two nights of our 15 day trip and found it a great place to unwind and relax. the room we had, had two single beds and was nicely decorated. if you are looking for modern, forget it. this hotel is warm and full of the family's treasures collected from far off places. the food was great, try the chicken dish and the lamb chops.. we did (yummy). the owners are very friendly and helpful. the view from the lounge,dining room is amazing. I will go back there again and can recommend it very highly ..

Room Tip: away from the front of the hotel. morning traffic woke us at 6am , but we do sleep with the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda12Kessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Lovely location.

Stayed for 3 nights on a B&B basis. Nice welcome. Our Room was clean and tidy. The food is soo good!

Shame that the Dining Room windows lacked any curtains. The bar left a bit to be desired, at best, service was poor, often serving white wine that had not been chilled.

I'm not a pet lover, but the poor dog that lives here does not look at all well, it can hardly get around the place!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 110416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlenofSelkirk, Owner at Glen Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We don't usually offer a response to reviews as we understand that guests demands vary and what's great for one can be unacceptable to another. Hence we rely on the majority of reviews to determine how we're doing.......and as the majority are extremely complimentary we will keep things as they are.
Regarding Tess, our Weimaraner. Had this guest taken the trouble to enquire about the "unwell" dog, they would have learned that she's been with us for 14 years, suffers with chronic arthritis, yet still enjoys life and loves to amble round the hotel. She is adored by all of our pet loving guests. Not really a reason for ending her existence as this guest would infer. Perhaps understanding all of the facts would be advisable before offering an unqualified opinion? And that's just ours.........opinion, that is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Great value, Although rooms were a little dated, they did have character and great views.Very comfortable beds. The food was very good. Steak was excellant and breakfast standard hotel fare. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
143 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome from a family run hotel. The hotel itself is traditionally decorated which now seems quite dated compared to other Scottish hotels. The room i stayed in was again decorated traditionally and was large. Bed was comfortable however the shower only had two temps; scorching hot or freezing cold. Reasonable free wifi coverage.

I paid £55 b&b on a Friday night which was very reasonable. Breakfast was disappointing as it did not start until 8:30 so as we had an early start a breakfast tray was left outside the door. Cornflakes, room temp milk, bread roll and jam in my mind is a rubbish breakfast and this was billed as 'continental'.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ingramgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 5 in Selkirk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
17.4 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Hotel

Property: Glen Hotel
Address: Yarrow Terrace | Selkirkshire, Selkirk TD7 5AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Glen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Hotel Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing