We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Gordon Arms

The Gordon Arms
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Selkirk
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Gordon Arms, an old coaching Inn nestling in the Yarrow Valley in the Scottish Borders. It was a favourite haunt of James Hogg, Sir Walter Scott and even Robert Burns was said to have stopped here. Now it is well known for its Traditional Music & Real Ale, and a warm welcome to walkers, cyclists and all other visitors to the area. Also Known As:The Gordon Arms, Yarrow, Scottish Borders Hotel The Gordon, Scottish Borders Hotel The Gordon Arms, Selkirk Scottish Borders.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“2nd visit”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We will definately be back! Good, well presented home cooking. I had the Ettrick Water Salmon with Oatcakes, a starter but did as a main course for me. On our first visit I had the soup, it was obviously homemade and delicious with warm fresh bread. My partner, on both occasions, had burger - that too was delicious and although not a great meat eater myself I had a taste - very good! Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sue1parson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
363 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very good pub food lunch”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were happy to come upon this place whilst cycling through the countryside. Nice cozy restaurant for tea and delicious pub food. I had chicken & leek pie accompanied by mashed potatoes and seasonal vegetables; my husband had the burger and it was equally good. Although, "everything" on a burger in Scotland means haggis and bacon!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowy_and_sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious home cooking!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely meal, good hearty pub foid with a home made feel. The chicken and leek pie a treat and my father still talking about his home baked ham (very fresh). The staff were lovely and the owner popped out to say hi and have a chat. If you want genuine dining experience this is it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“friendly inn”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a good, welcoming inn, that has a tasty menu,good beers, & music at the weekends.
Great to settle down to a good meal in front of a warming fire, on a cold winter's day!
It caters for a lot of passing trade.Southern Upland Way walkers, bikers, cyclists,the nearby sailing club from St. Mary's loch, & ,of course touring motorists.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huggyat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innerleithen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy New Year in the Gordon”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had a wonderful hogmany party in the Gordon Arms with 16 friends. The hotel laid on some excellent food and drink which set us up for a great night. They even came to the rescue when our transport failed to arrive and entertained us to some fine music and song into the wee sma ours! Thank you!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gordon Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Gordon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing