We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gordon Arms - Yarrow
Nearby Hotels
US$182
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glen Hotel(Selkirk)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Burt's Hotel(Melrose)
US$168
US$163
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Selkirk)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsknowes Hotel(Galashiels)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
110
16
4
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
110
16
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsburgeryarrow valleyblack douglasgreat publooking forward to a return visitchef tommyrolling countrysidemusic eventsrecording studiohistoric hotelsalmon fishing triplocal musiciansbite to eatwell worth the tripst mary's lochlive musicsouthern upland way
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We only ate here so can only comment on food which was just ok the soup was v good until i found a hair in it ordered a mr steak got a cold barely cooked one and my wifes burger was burnt black on 1 side and served on a morning roll, the young girl serving was very friendly but all in all you left feeling you were in the way ( some heating woulcnt be a bad idea)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank greedychops80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This pub is in the middle of nowhere but still accessible.

Good food and very friendly. Rooms a little small but we were only staying one night so not a problem.

The smoked salmon was lovely and I cannot understand the next day at a different hotel they had taken it off their menu as it was not selling!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tizliz5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I live in Edinburgh and was involved in bringing a group of study abroad students from Oregon on a week long folklore academic programme based in and around the city. One of their experiences was a "Border Ballads" trip including the Gordon Arms where Walter Scott was a patron 180 years ago. We arranged a sandwich lunch for 25 and were rewarded with a splendid array of generously filled, tasty sandwiches and salad, in the bar - simply refurbished without losing authenticity. 'Mac' the co-owner and his staff were terrace, unobtrusive, but on hand. If we run the course next year we will be back.

Iain More
Edinburgh

Room Tip: We did not stay
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IainMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I was one of a party of three doing the Southern Upland Way and we arrived here for an overnight stop having walked 20 miles in red hot weather. As we walked through the door we were greeted by the sound of delightful scottish folk music being performed by a large number of talented musicians. In the room there were four ladies playing fiddles, a man playing the accordian, two guys playing the guitar, a man with a penny whistle and a lady playing the spoons. So good was the music that I am sure I could have managed a quick jig despite my weary legs. We later discovered that this is a regular occurance on a Sunday.(3rd Sunday in every month)The hotel made us exceptionally welcome and we were able to enjoy the music and also have a superb meal in the pleasant restaurant. The steak was beautifully cooked, as was the breakfast the following morning. The atmosphere was superb with much laughter and good cheer. The owners made us exceptionally welcome and were very helpful, in fact this hotel is about 2 miles off the track and in the morning the owner drove us the two miles back to the track so that we could begin the Southern Upland Way without another wasted 2 miles. I can safley say that this hotel provided me with the best stop over in more than 20 years of walking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stopped here while walking part of the Southern Upland Way - one of the lads I was walking with has already posted a review. My reason for only giving 4 marks for location is that there was no view of St Mary's Loch, but the welcoming atmosphere and in particular the amazing traditional music session ( 3rd Sunday in the month is an open session ) from about a couple of dozen locals more than made up for this. We were told by one of them that if we wanted to, just get up and sing ' this lot won't mind, they are all steaming!'
Good food, beer, company and friendly staff who are trying to re-establish the pub as a focal point for the community, but welcome passers by in particular tired and thirsty walkers - what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews