We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gordon Arms - Yarrow
Ranked #1 of 10 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My partner and myself dropped by this hotel to find the best ever burger haggis and fish and chips, what a plate! it certainly filled me up after my walk along the hills as I was very hungry by the time we reached this absolute delight, can't wait for my next visit. Brilliant friendly service made to feel right at home with the cosy wood burner. 5 stars all round

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

This pub is located in one of the most remote locations in Scotland and it's remarkable that it can function as a business at all. It survives by appealing to cyclists, hikers, having a great chef, putting on live music as often as possible, hiring out bedrooms and transforming half the property into a world-class recording studios (yes, you can go and record your album there). It's am amazing piece of living Scottish history.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolfemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just got back from The Gordon Arms, having stayed over after a Kieran Halpin gig.We knew that the music would be good,having seen Mr Halpin many times over the years,but we didn't know anything about the Gordon Arms.Well,it CERTAINLY won't be the last visit! I agree wholeheartedly with the last reviewer-we were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked in.As we hadn't reserved a table-and there weren't many-we ate in the bar next to the woodburner,which was an even better option! The food was lovely,the portions plentiful and when we finally tore ourselves away from the fire and up to our room (we had the Sundhope-room 5) we found the beds so comfortable that we almost missed the concert. It was a very chilly night but the room warmed up very quickly and the lovely thick duvets kept us as warm as toast all night.Breakfast was just as good as the evening meals and kept us going all day.Lots of good walking and biking nearby-all in all a great find.We'll certainly be back soon!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judith f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great traditional pub with a warm welcome and open fire etc. Didn't stay over so cant review the rooms, however the bar Is cosy and intimate - the type of place where you end up chatting with the locals and other customers, whilst warming yourself in front of the log burner. Serves a really nice pint and the food is good too if you get peckish. Really warm welcome from the owners and staff who make you feel like a regular as soon as you walk through the door. Well worth popping in!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mad4Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to visit/eat/stay! Drove over with our road bikes, checked in, went for a cycle round Berrybush and the Swire (21 miles). Got back and the owner stored our bikes inside! Brilliant! Great food, brilliant atmosphere and the staff are great. Go take the road bikes and have a tour round the Yarrow Valley. What's not to like :-))

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank thomo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Gordon arms for a salmon fishing trip. We had a lovely stay, excellent food, comfortable and clean bedrooms and a great craic with our host Mac.we will see you next year, Thanks for a great trip

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanB376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We only ate here so can only comment on food which was just ok the soup was v good until i found a hair in it ordered a mr steak got a cold barely cooked one and my wifes burger was burnt black on 1 side and served on a morning roll, the young girl serving was very friendly but all in all you left feeling you were in the way ( some heating woulcnt be a bad idea)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank greedychops80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
10 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
229 reviews
10.1 mi away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
2,112 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tushielaw Inn
Tushielaw Inn
#2 of 10 in Selkirk
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
10.3 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 5 in Selkirk
179 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ettrick Valley Yurts
Ettrick Valley Yurts
#2 of 7 in Selkirk
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon Arms - Yarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Arms - Yarrow

Address: Yarrow Valley, Selkirk TD7 5LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Price Range: £75 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gordon Arms - Yarrow 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Gordon Arms, an old coaching Inn nestling in the Yarrow Valley in the Scottish Borders. It was a favourite haunt of James Hogg, Sir Walter Scott and even Robert Burns was said to have stopped here. Now it is well known for its Traditional Music & Real Ale, and a warm welcome to walkers, cyclists and all other visitors to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Gordon Arms - Yarrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gordon Arms - Yarrow Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing