We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gordon Arms - Yarrow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Gordon Arms - Yarrow
Ranked #1 of 10 Selkirk B&B and Inns
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The Gordon Arms is a real gem set in some of our most beautiful and unspoilt countryside.
The food is excellent and locally sourced. Breakfasts are cooked fresh. The beer is very well kept and excellent local real ale/s are available. The bedrooms are cosy and the beds fantastic.
The landlord (Tom?), his partner and all the staff are superb and friendly. The crac in the bar is spot on - rugby, fishing, shooting talk sure - but culture too (even I indulge in such talk sometimes).
The pub/hotel is a real centre for music. There are open mic sessions and a guitar is available in the bar for passing players to loan. When we were there a chap met my request for a John Martyn number with a great rendition of Couldn't Love You More.
I'm not into hyperbole so you can see I really like the place!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My partner and myself dropped by this hotel to find the best ever burger haggis and fish and chips, what a plate! it certainly filled me up after my walk along the hills as I was very hungry by the time we reached this absolute delight, can't wait for my next visit. Brilliant friendly service made to feel right at home with the cosy wood burner. 5 stars all round

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This pub is located in one of the most remote locations in Scotland and it's remarkable that it can function as a business at all. It survives by appealing to cyclists, hikers, having a great chef, putting on live music as often as possible, hiring out bedrooms and transforming half the property into a world-class recording studios (yes, you can go and record your album there). It's am amazing piece of living Scottish history.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wolfemurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just got back from The Gordon Arms, having stayed over after a Kieran Halpin gig.We knew that the music would be good,having seen Mr Halpin many times over the years,but we didn't know anything about the Gordon Arms.Well,it CERTAINLY won't be the last visit! I agree wholeheartedly with the last reviewer-we were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked in.As we hadn't reserved a table-and there weren't many-we ate in the bar next to the woodburner,which was an even better option! The food was lovely,the portions plentiful and when we finally tore ourselves away from the fire and up to our room (we had the Sundhope-room 5) we found the beds so comfortable that we almost missed the concert. It was a very chilly night but the room warmed up very quickly and the lovely thick duvets kept us as warm as toast all night.Breakfast was just as good as the evening meals and kept us going all day.Lots of good walking and biking nearby-all in all a great find.We'll certainly be back soon!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judith f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great traditional pub with a warm welcome and open fire etc. Didn't stay over so cant review the rooms, however the bar Is cosy and intimate - the type of place where you end up chatting with the locals and other customers, whilst warming yourself in front of the log burner. Serves a really nice pint and the food is good too if you get peckish. Really warm welcome from the owners and staff who make you feel like a regular as soon as you walk through the door. Well worth popping in!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad4Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to visit/eat/stay! Drove over with our road bikes, checked in, went for a cycle round Berrybush and the Swire (21 miles). Got back and the owner stored our bikes inside! Brilliant! Great food, brilliant atmosphere and the staff are great. Go take the road bikes and have a tour round the Yarrow Valley. What's not to like :-))

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thomo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Buckby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Gordon arms for a salmon fishing trip. We had a lovely stay, excellent food, comfortable and clean bedrooms and a great craic with our host Mac.we will see you next year, Thanks for a great trip

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selkirk
10.2 mi away
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
10.0 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Philipburn House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
10.3 mi away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
13.0 mi away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gordon Arms - Yarrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gordon Arms - Yarrow

Property: The Gordon Arms - Yarrow
Address: Yarrow Valley, Selkirk TD7 5LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Gordon Arms, an old coaching Inn nestling in the Yarrow Valley in the Scottish Borders. It was a favourite haunt of James Hogg, Sir Walter Scott and even Robert Burns was said to have stopped here. Now it is well known for its Traditional Music & Real Ale, and a warm welcome to walkers, cyclists and all other visitors to the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gordon Arms - Yarrow Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing