We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was great, you stiffs just don't get it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tibbie Shiels Camping
uk
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It was great, you stiffs just don't get it!”
Reviewed 7 July 2009

To start off, Tibbie Sheils has been extermely welcoming both to my family and my friends! The management below, who many of the other reviewers seem to dislike, is actually very laid back, easy to chat to, extremley friendly & helpful! I cannot praise him more to be perfectly honest!
The accomodation, b&b, whilst very basic, is pleasant and comfortable. Obviously, there is going to be insects- you are staying in the middle of nowhere in Scotland!!

And yes, i will be going back!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kifiskeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    28
    15
    18
    39
See reviews for
36
49
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Here is a copy of the email I sent to the Manager/ Landlord (Alistair Moody) on 27/05/09 which is self explanatory. I have not had any reply .
"Dear Mr Moody,
I was very disappointed and upset from our experience at Tibbie Shiels yesterday. I thought that I had found a perfect place for a family get together and lunch but it turned out to be a total fiasco.
My daughter could not believe that anything like that could happen in this country and that is why she expressed her feelings directly to you before leaving. I do not wish to leave the matter like this but I would like to hear your side of the story before taking further action.
1. You promised me THREE times, twice on phone and once by email, that you would mail me a copy of the menu but nothing happened.
2. You were very happy to take my booking, by email AND by phone but when we reached there at the agreed time of 12:30 you were no where to be seen and the staff on duty had no knowledge of the booking.
3. Poor staff on duty were clearly out of their depth and you did not appear on the scene till 2:15 pm.
4. Food was tolerable and thank God no one has been ill but the service was appalling and while waiting and looking around we were shocked to see the poor standard of hygiene.
I await you reply with interest
Yours faithfully
Dr S S Bajoria"

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gwaliorwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CUMBRIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

manager with an appalling attitude. scenery was stunning with being right on the lake side. meals are very poor value for money expensive and very basic.woild not go again unless the management was to change,we have never been spoken or treat the way that we wre we were totally appalled .the manager said that he was tired with being up late the night before ,but that can or should not be forwarded onto new residents

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CUMBRIASHAZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

Just popped in while out for a day trip. Gorgeous scenery, good, if narrow roads. Tibbie Sheils Inn itself was everything a traveller would want. Clean, welcoming, warm (stove/fire) friendly, good food and smiling hosts. It's also dog friendly to well behaved dogs. A really good experience. 10 out of 10 for everything. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzy57_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmshore, Lancs
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2009

Looking at the outside, it does looks like it's in need of a little TLC but, once inside, any changes would ruin the character of the place. The new landlords took over in summer 2008, and are really making a great effort. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was, whilst basic, was varied and tasty.

Whilst the location helped our enjoyment (we walked a lot), it was the attitude of the landlords (Alistair and Selina) and some of the locals that made it work for us. Everyone was so welcoming that we've already made plans to return.

The old adage "you get what you pay for" does apply, but we got more than we bargained for - excellent location, good weather, very welcoming landlords, great food, and good company all round. Heaven!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlander1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2009

A warm welcome in the middle of nowhere! Tibbies Shiels Inn is unique. The rooms are clean and airy and ensuite. We had a room with a view over St Mary's Loch. The view changed constantly with the weather and we a saw some impressive birds of prey.

The bar was well stocked warm and lively, full of friendly local characters. The food was good and plentiful and the breakfast particularly hearty.

The residents lounge had comfortable chairs, a piano and various other muscial instruments, games and lots of reading material. The conservatory was not in use.

The whole place is full of old furniture, picturesand curiousities, all indicative of its colourful past. The welcome from the staff was warm and friendly. we were allowed to take our dog, and the whole hotel has wireless broadband.

There was no TV in the room, only as far as we know in the bar.

The surrounding scenery is spectacular. It is approachable with many established walks. The long-distance coast to coast Southern Uplands trail passes alongside the Inn.

We intend to return at Easter and to camp in the grounds in the summer.

We really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipdemeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2008

arrived at tibbies last year at 8.00pm to be greeted by the owner who greeted me with hope you do not want to eat the kitchen closed 15mins ago.came back this year wowwee new owners . were made to feel very welcome i.e would we like food the rooms are much better,the atmosphere is tottally different much more relaxing and friendlier. nothing was too much trouble and anything i asked for was done in a happy and friendly way. i would tottally recommend anyone to go in fact i have allready booked my trip for next year

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — the rain
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank supergran_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Selkirk hotels
14.7 mi away
Glen Hotel
Glen Hotel
#2 of 5 in Selkirk
225 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ettrick Valley Yurts
Ettrick Valley Yurts
#2 of 7 in Selkirk
39 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Gordon Arms - Yarrow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Scottish Borders, Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
15.1 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#3 of 5 in Selkirk
170 reviews
14.7 mi away
Heatherlie House Hotel
Heatherlie House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Selkirk
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tibbie Shiels Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tibbie Shiels Camping

Property: Tibbie Shiels Camping
Address: St Mary's Loch, Selkirkshire, Selkirk TD7 5LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Selkirk
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Selkirk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Tibbie Shiels Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tibbie Shiels Hotel Selkirk
Tibbie Shiels Camping Selkirk, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing