We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Mill was the highlight of our 3-week UK...”
other traveller has booked this property
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Beautiful light and warm bedrooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Mill @ Lewinshope
Beautiful light and warm bedrooms
The Kitchen has everything you need.
Tennis Court can be used anytime. Football too!
Plenty of seating area and space to relax.
Ash room with steam shower in the ensuite.
Open plan area and Mezzanine above to hide away and read.
The Beech Room.
Hidden under the Waterwheel a small window in the Ash Bathroom looking onto the hills beyond.
The Elm Bedroom with ensuite bathroom with a the only bath in the Mill with a shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Selkirk, Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MARY T
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Mill was the highlight of our 3-week UK holiday.”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Mill was perfect. It was like staying in an HGTV Dream Home. Each bedroom/ensuite combo was unique and beautiful. The woodwork and furniture throughout the house is outstanding and lovely. We very much appreciated the large laundry room with full-sized washer and dryer, and drying rack with heated fan (the six of us go through a LOT of laundry.) With two dishwashers, the kitchen stayed tidy.

There are so many unique features to this well-designed home. It was a treat just to walk through and note them all, such as the wall cut-out surrounded with LED lighting in the corner cabinet in the kitchen, adding much more light into the area.

My entire family was thrilled with this property, and we were all sad when we had to leave. Would we book another overseas trip just to stay at this property? Well, yes. We just might.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Hi Mary. Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am so glad it was such a successful stay and you all loved it. I hope the flight back was a good one and settled in back to home life. Thank you again. With love from the Watsons x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthmacew...
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“We loved our stay, it was perfect”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just enjoyed the most wonderful stay at The Mill. Nestled in the stunning countryside of the Scottish Borders, it is quiet and secluded, and was perfect for us to relax and catch up with family. The accommodation is of a very high standard and very comfortable with lots of attention to detail, and beautiful wooden finishes throughout. The owners have thought of everything. We have very happy memories of our stay. Thank you very much :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. Sorry for the delay in responding back. Johnny and I were so pleased you had a wonderful family catch up. Hope to see you all again soon. Love from the Watsons x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachelwat...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most beautiful wedding venue!”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were recently married here and had a wonderful day. Not only did the sun decide to shine but everything went really smoothly.

We held the rehearsal dinner in the mill as the kitchen and dinning facilities are so well equipped. Family stayed in the 4 rooms which all have an en-suite and are absolutely incredible!!! We had a marquee but people mingled in the mill before and after the meal as it has such a warm, homely touch to it.

The owners are relaxed and very helpful! They helped us get in touch with various vendors near by to make planning the wedding much easier and then on the run up were happy to help with anything we needed.

Looking forward to going back for another weekend with friends in the near future!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! The relaxed yet smooth running of the day and weekend.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2016
Hi Rachel and Bertie What an amazingly calm and wonderful bride you were. So relaxing and appreciative. It made it all the easier to help you and Bertie and make your day one to remember. A fabulous day for a fabulous couple. Thank you for the lovely review. See you again soon Love Lulu and Johnny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markbucki...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top class holiday house, superbly equiped with much style for a comfortable stay.”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

It is a lovely house. In the 15 years I have been holidaying in this region it is by far the best quality house we have stayed in. Great finish throughout with lots of nice touches. Very well equipped for everything in the kitchen as well as sewing kits for the button on my trousers!
We will be there next year as it also seemed to be a lucky charm for the fishing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Wow, that's really kind of you and so encouraging. Thrilled to hear that the fishing was a success. Glad the sewing kit came in handy. I am not aware of anyone having used it before.; who knows? Many thank's again for the amazing review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grpembrok...
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful wedding venue”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

90 guests - room for all with easy access for all ages from the marquee at the back to large reception area and kitchen. Wonderful scenery; relaxed and thoughtful owners with a good eye to detail.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Beautiful workmanship in the rooms
Liked least: Leaving at the end of our stay!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you for the review. It was a great day. Lulu
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevo P
1 review
“Paradise in the Borders”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The downside to giving a 5 star review is that you let the secret out but I just have to with this place.

This was our second visit and you really cannot find fault with this place.
It's as if the owners have designed the ideal holiday home based on what they would like to find.

The kitchen is incredible,2 dishwashers and about 30 plates so you have no worries there.
Anything you can think of is in this kitchen.

The bedrooms are luxurious and more importantly have the comfiest beds imaginable (and huge).One bedroom has a ensuite wet room with double shower unit due to the sauna (proper size) that resides there.

Another great thing is that you dont have to worry about buying the annoying things like shampoo/shower gel, washing liquid, dishwasher tablets, washing powder, toilet roll etc that are missing from other properties.

Also all the logs are plentifully provided for the huge open fire!!!!
Also Tennis Court on site.....

Full marks to the owners Lulu and Johnny

Will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the place is great but I loved the Sauna/Kitchen?Mattress
Liked least: The weather....not the owners fault really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
WOW thank you so so much for the most amazing review. Things I never realised were so helpful! Hope to see you again. Lulux
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yummymumm...
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Gorgeous house for friends and family to stay in. Lots of crockery etc for family dinners. Ordered a big Asda shop for just after we arrived. The hosts were very friendly but unobtrusive. Kids loved the see saw and tennis courts. Despite inclement weather we had a fantastic weekend. All enjoyed steam room and sauna. The big bath was so relaxing as well. Nice playarea upstairs for kids and it was lovely sitting in front of open fire as wind and rain blew outside! Thanks Lulu and Johnny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2016
Thank you very much for the kind review. Glad you made use of the good weather in between the rain! Hope to see you all again. With love The Watsons x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing