We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”
Review of Dunmar House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunmar House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Alloa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2011

we stayed in the Dunmar house hotel for a wedding that was taking place near by, my party took up most of the rooms and every member of staff was very accommodating with all our requests! the staff couldn't be more helpful arranging taxis and advising of places to go in the town. very good value for money!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnaclairemackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 88 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2011

Arrived tired after a long journey. Reception was very helpful and empathetic. Room was a little tired , but clean and spacious. Food was excellent quality and fast service. Bar team chatty and seemed pleased to see us. Breakfast was of god quality and the bill was exact. What more could you want. I will definitely use this hotel again.

Room Tip: book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedros143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I am a Technician who gets moved about. the hotel was booked for Wednesday evening but we rang and cancelled around 1500 in the afternoon.
This morning I got charge the full price saying if not cancelled twenty four hours or more before you have to pay. The person had no empathy or customer liaison that's it full stop.
We travel on business and can get shipped around a bit . If you do this hotel is not for you obviously. Also at least one person needs some lessons in dealing with people.
Give it some thought.
Travel Lodge you can cancel up to early evening

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cranemedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Tucked away hotel in pretty surroundings, nice gardens, oldy worldy atmosphere. Perfectly pleasant stay. Great Scottish breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen-MarieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

My business took me to Alloa with just a few hotels to choose from. There were a few problems with the room...mostly housekeeping, but the room was large and very comfortable.
The problems were sorted out straight away and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I ate in the restaurant twice and enjoyed both meals. They need to get their act together with soft drinks...not a proper selection and they said that "they hadnt had the delivery" (both nights) The staff make up for its shortcomings!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Booked a Double Room a few weeks prior to arriving to be let down on arrival at 9pm with a Twin and nothing they could do. Managed to sort out alternative at Broomhall Castle, which I would strongly recommend.

My booking was taken by the Manager and despite the staff doing what they could,m at no point did the Manager come to see me to apologise for the error. The Hotel itself is also looking very dated and tired and the room was not in a very good state. Glad that I opted not to stay as the place lacked any sort of life and really needs to modernise, in particular bathrooms and furnishings.

Recommend looking at Broomhall Castle - a little more, but well worth the money!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BORNTOKITE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alloa
2.2 mi away
Broomhall Castle
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inglewood House and Spa
11.1 mi away
Gleneagles
Gleneagles
#1 of 3 in Auchterarder
3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Garvally House
Garvally House
#1 of 3 in Alloa
135 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Dunmar House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmar House Hotel

Address: Dunmar, Alloa FK10 2EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Alloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alloa
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunmar House Hotel & Restaurant is a small family run hotel. We aim to offer 5* service at affordable prices. Whether you want to make use of the facilities for accommodation, a conference, meal or simply to come in for a drink or a cup of coffee/tea you will always be very welcome. Our experienced and multilingual staff are always eager to help make your stay with us an enjoyable one. The Hotel has 9 bedrooms available. The bedrooms offer all you require, from a four poster bed to a single room with shower. all individually decorated with en-suite and tea/coffee making facilities along with Digital TV and radio all you need to make you feel at home. When you come through our long driveway and arrive at the hotel you will feel like you are in the middle of a forest and yet Stirling the Ochil Hills and Forth Valley are all at your finger tips. we do on occasion allow dogs on the premisses to stay as long as we are advised before hand and they are well behaved so please phone first before booking. We are proud of our function/conference suit, and can cater for approximately 180 guests. Please contact us for details of our wedding & events packages and our event coordinator will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Dunmar House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunmar House Hotel Alloa, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing