We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Dunmar House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunmar House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Alloa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Recently had our wedding here couldnt fault anything from the preperation to the day itself Andy,Robert and all the staff where amazing nothing was an effort for them, food was superb the honeymoon suite was beautiful and brilliantly decorated.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

Hotel desperately in need of Refurbishing. Bedrooms - very poor, sheets were thread bare. Two lights didn't work. Carpet badly stained. I chose to cover pillow with item of clothing, before putting my head on it!! Enough said"................
Bathroom in similar state, vinyl flooring lifting in corner, covered in black mould. Tapes tarnished. Need I go on?

Staff were friendly, always busy about there work.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Attended a wedding held here in March. We arrived early before checkin time however, Gillian got us a cup of coffee and we had a seat for 15 minutes at the lovely roaring log fire whilst our room was finished. The room was of a good standard and had great views over the gardens.
The wedding itself was fantastic, great food and service and Andy the MC made sure everyone was looked after. All the staff were very friendly and chatted away.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent, good quality bacon and sausage, just what the doctor ordered.
Would happily book my next wedding here (just don't tell the wife!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Went for a meal with family, food was good reasonable prices. Kirk who was working behind the bar and who was our waiter was outstanding very friendly and couldn't do enough for us,kept checking to make sure we were okay and if we needed anything. Met lynn near the end of the night she was very nice and friendly. As we live in walking distance we found the road up to it really needs lighting we had to watch were we were walking as theres lots of potholes and its pitch black which can be very dangerous.Hotel nice but could do with a bit improving in areas.would go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank theboss123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We booked a table for 7 people for lunch. We found the staff to be very professional and helpful. The set Xmas lunch menu was good with 3 courses for £13.95. The food was freshly prepared and very tasty. We had a table in the dining room whilst others dined in the conservatory but that suited us as we were celebrating a family event so enjoyed the "private dining". The reception is lovely with an old fashioned feel, comfy sofas and a log fire burning. The only negative I have is that the dining room was cold, a nice fire in here would have made all the difference. Overall a nice experience with great staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOANNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We went out for dinner so can only make comment about food/restaurant and not rooms. Reception area was nice and comfortable. Restaurant itself looked clean and ready for customers (we booked a table in advance). Service was good although I felt slightly slow at times. Food - average - in terms of choice and taste. Meals/desserts looked good on the plates and overall were OK. Would I come back? Probably yes, although wish they had a better choice of desserts (apple pie, cheesecake) and main courses (fish).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We were there for a wedding. First impressions, the outside of the hotel was ok but obviously had nothing done to it for along time! We were directed to what looked like a small side door to reception where we waited for 40 minutes for ayone to arrive! once they did were were told our room wasn't ready (we had arrived in jeans and needed to change into our finery) and were shown to our room before it was cleaned. What a disaster, the room was disgusting and at £80 a night i would have expected so much more. part of the carpet was sticky, there was something on the chair (i wouldnt like to think what), you looked on to the windowsill and it was absalutely covered in bird poo, the furniture looked like it had been around for a LONG LONG time as did the wallpaper and carpet, the only redeeming thing about the room was the view of the garden which was lovely. Most of the hotel was booked up b wedding guests andi think we were lucky in that we didn't have to change rooms whereas everyone else appeared to have changed rooms a couple of times that night!
The room for the wedding was plain and quite dull and the food left a lot to be desired but the staff were very friendly and drinks at the bar were reasonably priced.
Breakfast was fine but again i would have expected more from a hotel. The table wasn't cleaned before we sat down, other members of our party were ignored for long periods of time.
All in all this is not a hotel i would recommend and instead of making the bridal parties day even more special it just seemed to add to their already stressful day.

Room Tip: just dont go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glasgowcouple9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alloa
2.2 mi away
Broomhall Castle
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
641 reviews
5.1 mi away
King Robert Hotel
King Robert Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bannockburn
521 reviews
4.8 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
774 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stirling Court Hotel
Stirling Court Hotel
#7 of 20 in Stirling
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmar House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmar House Hotel

Address: Dunmar, Alloa FK10 2EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Alloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alloa
Price Range: £67 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunmar House Hotel & Restaurant is a small family run hotel. We aim to offer 5* service at affordable prices. Whether you want to make use of the facilities for accommodation, a conference, meal or simply to come in for a drink or a cup of coffee/tea you will always be very welcome. Our experienced and multilingual staff are always eager to help make your stay with us an enjoyable one. The Hotel has 9 bedrooms available. The bedrooms offer all you require, from a four poster bed to a single room with shower. all individually decorated with en-suite and tea/coffee making facilities along with Digital TV and radio all you need to make you feel at home. When you come through our long driveway and arrive at the hotel you will feel like you are in the middle of a forest and yet Stirling the Ochil Hills and Forth Valley are all at your finger tips. we do on occasion allow dogs on the premisses to stay as long as we are advised before hand and they are well behaved so please phone first before booking. We are proud of our function/conference suit, and can cater for approximately 180 guests. Please contact us for details of our wedding & events packages and our event coordinator will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Dunmar House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunmar House Hotel Alloa, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing