We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunmar House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunmar House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Alloa B&B and Inns
Stirling, Scotland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very poor experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We did not stay in hotel, only went for a bar meal. Awful from start to finish. No warmth from the staff, who showed us into the bar, where the seating was worn, and needed replaced. Also the table linen was dirty 'from a function in the afternoon'.......!!
The food was poorly presented and my husband's pork was barely edible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    17
    17
    7
    7
See reviews for
33
17
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I recently attended a wedding at the Dunmar Hotel, first impressions were this is a lovely cosy looking hotel, loved the big leather sofas with the log burning fire as you enter the door. A bit dark but defo cozy looking. Staff were very welcoming, all smiling and very pleasant. We got shown to our Rooms, I have booked a double for my husband and I and a single for my son. I thought it would be a nice treat even though we only stay 25 mins from hotel. Rooms were very tired and the single room door didn't lock from the outside. The bed was very uncomfortable and I heard other guests at breakfast say the same. Mattresses were all very uncomfortable. We could not use the shower, the coupling from the hose to the head was split so when you turned on the shower it sprayed up the wall and onto the floor. So no shower till I got home. There was so much noise under floors and above floors, not sure if it was heating noises or shower noises from other rooms. We were frozen that night and it was a pleasant day but absolutely Baltic in the room. My husband didn't complain he got plenty cuddles that night, just so I could get a heat !! We had the tea and coffee and full breakfast. Nothing special but very nice. I ate everything which is not like me !! The thing I missed all through the meal at the wedding and our 'waiting' periods and breakfast was music, defo needs some music is this hotel, it would lighten the moods and not make silent moments awkward. The wedding went very well, meal was very good, veg needs a little work, very bland. Waiting time inbetween turning the dining room into reception room was a bit long. We felt the whole day would have been halved if there wasn't so much waiting time ! All in all I would say nice stay but very very expensive for room for what it is. Staff Very pleasant and lovely smiles. Remember to ask for extra blankets in this hotel and ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Having gone to the Harviestoun at Tillicoultry last year, which was superb, my wife and i decided to try somewhere closer to home and we could walk to and not require a taxi. So, after consideration and reading the xmas day menu and facilities that we picked up from the reception, decided to book the Dunmar. Never again. We arrived at 2.10 for a 2.30 lunch, to a friendly welcome, and said we would be shown into the bar to recieve a free glass of bubbly, and told we could sit and enjoy our drink until it was time to go through. We had hardly sat down when an older lady dressed like she was at a funeral instructed us to please follow her. We were taken through to the dining room to sit at our table, and quite soon our order was taken for the 3 courses. We had long since finished the bubbly and were wondering when we would be asked if we would like a drink, which we both wanted especially after finishing our starter. After waiting further i decided to fetc our own drinks from the room we were 1st in as it seemed that was what most people were doing. The starter itself was quite nice, as was the dessert. The main dinner unfortunately was not. The meat was suspiciously rounded and smooth, and did not seem freshly carved from an actual turkey. The accompanying bowl of vegetables was bland and not enough for two people, and was accompanied by one stingy sausage and some kind of off white sauce which we were unable to identify. Every course was served to myself first instead of my wife, which is a huge no no and the first rule of table service. Thr room itself was dark and dismal, nowhere near enough decorations etc. and did not feel festive at all. It also took an age to clear our empty plates even when staff were walking right past us and clearly noticing. All in all the whole experience was very dissapointing, and by the end of our main course we both just wanted to finish and leave. The impression we were left with was that the right hand didn't seem to know what the left hand was doing, tthe service was as amateur as its possible to get, and that the whole place just flatters to deceive and is trying to pretend its something it isn't. We would like to say however that the young waitresses, however untrained they were, were at least very friendly, and we thanked them for working on xmas day. Needless to say we won't be returning. £55 each?? ah well, you live and learn as they say........

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark-n-Gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alloa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The staff here were lovely and for that reason I feel bad about leaving a bad review but I have to be honest. The room was grim, pink mold all over the shower head, split flooring in the bathroom, black dirt under the shower screen. Thin synthetic pillows and bedding which did not keep me warm at all. Sheet did not fit the bed. The floor vibrated from the central heating pipes and made noise through the night. The room was depressing and smelled vaguely of drains.

The food was ok, I asked for a glass of wine and was given one from a bottle that had clearly been open for a week or more, it was not drinkable.

All in all a really disappointing experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sullymum80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night when visiting friends in the area.

First impressions were good: pleasant looking hotel, friendly reception staff and the room we were given (Room 1) was large and clean with a very spacious bathroom with both corner bath and shower (which had very good pressure). Tea and coffee making facilities were provided.

We had lunch which was fine and the restaurant made a real effort to cater for my vegeterian friend and made her a nut roast which wasn't on the lunch menu, which we appreciated.

When we returned from dinner with friends at around 10.30pm, however, we were not as happy as we had been previously. We were hoping for a restful night's sleep but the sound proofing is bad so we could hear constant banging of doors and people talking late into the night. We could hear everything going on in the next room including their nocturnal activity (!)
and in the morning we were woken up by dogs barking from somewhere. If I had known, I would have brought ear plugs. Further, despite the bed itself being fairly comfortable, the bedding was synthetic and scratchy.

Breakfast was so-so. Yoghurts and cereal were provided (no pastries) and the cooked breakfast was ok but rather greasy. Probably good if you have a hangover. Unfortunately the coffee was terrible. Very watery. Probably didn't help that we had the most fabulous breakfast the day before at Leo's beanery in Edinburgh.

We booked through laterooms.com on a deal. If we had paid full price we would have been very disappointed. In summary, the house itself is lovely (a few sofas by an open fire as you walk in is a nice touch), the gardens look really pretty though we didn't really explore as it was raining, but the bedding needs to be replaced and the breakfast could be improved - especially the coffee!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzienRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

A great place for a party the food was good and the drinks were not over priced. We had a lovely room which was warm and clean with loads of space. The hotel although a little tired is I would say work in progress but this is more than made up with the great staff and great breakfast.
Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kincardine, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We recently had our wedding here, and everything went perfectly. All the staff were very communicative, friendly and helpful, from the preparations beforehand and on the day itself. A particular thank you to Robert, Andy and Suzanne and of course Tony who did the disco for our evening reception, nothing was an issue for them, and they continually catered for all our and guests needs. The meal was lovely, and served to everyone very quickly. The honeymoon suite was of good standard, and had great views of the gardens, which are lovely. Breakfast was really good as well, the girl serving us was also friendly and approachable. For an occasion, I have raved on about the Dunmar, due to the friendly approachable staff, location and size, it was perfect for us!

Room Tip: The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable, however what lets them down is their decor, and poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alloa
2.3 mi away
Broomhall Castle
Broomhall Castle
#1 of 1 in Menstrie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harviestoun Country Hotel & Restaurant
4.8 mi away
Airth Castle & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bridge of Allan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Stirling City Centre Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stirling
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmar House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmar House Hotel

Property: Dunmar House Hotel
Address: Dunmar, Alloa FK10 2EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Clackmannanshire > Alloa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Alloa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunmar House Hotel & Restaurant is a small family run hotel. We aim to offer 5* service at affordable prices. Whether you want to make use of the facilities for accommodation, a conference, meal or simply to come in for a drink or a cup of coffee/tea you will always be very welcome. Our experienced and multilingual staff are always eager to help make your stay with us an enjoyable one. The Hotel has 9 bedrooms available. The bedrooms offer all you require, from a four poster bed to a single room with shower. all individually decorated with en-suite and tea/coffee making facilities along with Digital TV and radio all you need to make you feel at home. When you come through our long driveway and arrive at the hotel you will feel like you are in the middle of a forest and yet Stirling the Ochil Hills and Forth Valley are all at your finger tips. we do on occasion allow dogs on the premisses to stay as long as we are advised before hand and they are well behaved so please phone first before booking. We are proud of our function/conference suit, and can cater for approximately 180 guests. Please contact us for details of our wedding & events packages and our event coordinator will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunmar House Hotel Alloa, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing