We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
152
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green room yogurt home made cakes comfortable bed wonderful breakfast local produce compote wee dram hidden gem no hesitation in recommending warm welcome helpful hosts top class period furnishings breakfast fit for a king owners michael lots of nice touches
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2014

I only spent one night at Garvally House but I would happily go back again if in the area. I read nothing but good reviews in advance of my booking and my experience was excellent as well. The owners, Michael and Naomi, were very accommodating hosts but not intrusive. Michael provided good local recommendations for both a restaurant and a golf course nearby and went out of his way to help. Breakfast was excellent, the room was comfy and quiet -- what more do you need? I stayed in a room without an en suite bathroom but had a large, modern, private bathroom just outside of the door so this was more than adequate.

The location is about 15 minutes from the center of Stirling and less than an hour's drive from Edinburgh. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 2fromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Garvally House is a beautiful and most comfortable place to stay. Michael and Naomi go out of their way to provide a welcoming atmosphere. Our bedroom (the "Green Room") was lovely and had all the comforts we needed, even including a wee dram of whisky each day. The breakfasts were delicious and ample and featured some wonderful homemade items. Alloa itself is not large, and the restaurant choices are limited. But we had an excellent meal at the one place the owners recommended, and it's only 10 minutes or so from downtown Stirling with lots of options. We'd definitely stay there again.

Room tip: The green room was great!
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Finally found somewhere to stay in Alloa. Warm welcome. Very comfortable room and delicious home cooked breakfast to start the day. Close to town centre so I could walk to the office. Have already booked a return stay. Highly recommended

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank carole h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2014

Breakfast was delicious with great choice available.Homemade yoghurt and varieties of jams. Comfortable room with bath robes and slippers provided. Great size of bathroom with his and her sinks! The hosts were so attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2014

First time for me here, driven by Tripadvisor.
Myself and my bro in law had a woderful time at the Garvally House.
The villa is really beautiful and very well maintained. That's already alot but nothing compared to the welcome, the passion, the savoir-faire provided by two great persons, Naomi and Michael.
Rooms are really good in terms of size, colors (Naomi has a great taste..), furniture, silence, and
comfort. Please take the time to taste the great breakfat menu,...try it all if you can..delicious..
I find the atmosphere as magic. I just look forward to be there again.

Room tip: the green room
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tmy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews