We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
152
4
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
4
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green room yogurt home made cakes comfortable bed wonderful breakfast local produce compote wee dram hidden gem no hesitation in recommending warm welcome helpful hosts top class period furnishings breakfast fit for a king owners michael lots of nice touches
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2015

I loved my stay at this B&B. The owners were charming, friendly and accomodating. I have very complicated dietery requirements being both lactose intolerant and vegetarian. I gave the owners notice of this and I genuinely feel that they bent over backwards to feed me a 5 star breakfast.

The rooms are beautiful and the bathrooms lavish. Just loved it!

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eva G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Can't actaually review this accomadation as we never got to stay. We received a confirmation email on the 11th November for our two night stay in late February. However, on the 23rd on January we received an email from the hotel to say that they were unable to honor the reservation as a result of overbooking on their part (apparently a glass company had booked the hotel a couple of months after our reservation was confirmed, and they decided this was a better offer with no consideration for leaving us high and dry at such short notice).

We feel this is an unacceptable way to treat potential customers and would not consider booking again. Just wanted to let others know that this has happened to us and could happen to them. Beware!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
9  Thank BUZ2491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiredandRetired500, Owner at Garvally House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2015

OK : We dropped the ball as far as this traveler was concerned and the situation will not be repeated.
We know from speaking to her at length on the telephone just how angry and upset she was when we had to tell her about the double booking.
We apologised profusely and at length but she was not to be placated.
This is not how we typically treat our guests as the overwhelming positive reviews on this and other sites testify.
We allow all guests the option of cancelling a booking up to 14 days before arrival without explanation and without loss of deposit.
In this instance the problem was of our making we gave the guest fully 4 weeks notice of the problem and offered to find similar or better accommodation in the area AND to pay any additional costs incurred.
Would be Guests need not Beware as is suggested in the Review as we will as we did in this instance do everything in our power to alleviate any problem of any type which might occur.

Naomi @ Garvally House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2015

We so enjoyed our stay at Garvally House. Our party stayed in two rooms which were superb. Beautiful bedrooms & breakfast delicious. Michael & Naomi very welcoming & informative about local area. I hope to return for a relaxing stay in lovely home.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fifenton15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Everything about Garvally House is excellent! The room was fabulous, the food was delicious, the house is beautiful and the hosts are just the most welcoming and lovely people. I would not hesitate to recommend that you stay here!

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2014

This is a very overdue review - we stayed in April when visiting family in Alloa. The room (Green Room) was superb - comfortable and stylish. The welcome from Naomi and Michael was exceptionally warm and the breakfasts were AMAZING! (Best yoghurt I've had!). We will definitely stay here again next time we are visiting Alloa.

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews