We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place - a must see”

The Raiders Road Forest Drive
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 10-mile road winds along the Black Water of Dee and through the forest.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“beautiful place - a must see”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Drove to Clatteringshaws Loch only to see that the visitors centre/cafe was closed down. Having checked the website that morning (8/8/13) before we went, nothing was mentioned! Very annoying considering the drive to get there.
However all was not lost, we visited the Red Deer view point, a stunning area and watched the wild deer from a close distance in the most stunning country side. If you go at 11am you can pay for a guided tour and a chance to feed the deer.
After that we took the Forest road trail in the car. Absolutely stunning,there we happened upon the Otters Pool. A jewel of a place for the kids to paddle. Simply beautiful, picnic area and toilets close at hand.
We continued our drive through the forest and alongside Loch Ken. Again another scenic place, had we the time we would have explored this loch more as there seemed lots to do, especially water sports.
Worth a visit, however the visitors centre being open would have added to the enjoyment.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathrynSmyth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Drive”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Beautiful views as you drive through the forest on the raiders road. Last time we visited the road was closed but the whole forest is an amazing place to visit
We took our time driving through and seemed to be the only car around as it was getting on and light was fading but still fantastic

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AshleySpencer1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I went on the raider forest drive and it had a nice picnic place opposite loch ken and also stopped at a picnic spot called the otter pool, lovely scenery, flowing river, pine trees everywhere, if u like the countryside and like walking you should like this place

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sbailey1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Amazing Drive thru the forest”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This is the second time we have driven through here, it had only opened for the new season the other day as we drove down it and we were the only car on there, it took us 2 hours as we could take our time and crawl along looking at everything and we spent about 45 minutes at the Otter Pool walking around and hand feeding a Chaffinch that landed by our feet. The views are amazing but it is a shame to see so much of the forest being cut down. It runs alongside a river where you can get out and look at the wildlife. There is a Toll charge of something like £2 for the drive and it is well worth it. Take the time and enjoy a lovely drive. If we went in the summer we would take a picnic and spend so much more time there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good day out”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Very good day out if you like the outdoors got to be nice weather lovely views plenty of wildlife good for photos .

Helpful?
Thank steve1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raiders Road Forest Drive also viewed

Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
Galloway Forest Park, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Newton Stewart, Dumfries and Galloway
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Raiders Road Forest Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing