We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Lindean Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lindean Guest House
Ranked #42 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Dont hesitate to stay here. Very high standard of room, cleanliness and Carol and Steve are excellent owners and very welcoming. Breakfast was perfection. If Im back in Dumfries this is where I will stay. A++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++. Davie from Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daviebrycer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

A clean and well kept B & B with a most hospitable Hostess. My only complaint here was that the mattress on the double bed was in dire need of being changed, it was most uncomfortable to sleep on, this was pointed out to Carol in the morning ..... it must be difficult to know when beds need to be renewed as the Proprietors never sleep on them! Breakfast was tasty .....

Room Tip: Ask about the mattress!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were very impressed by the kindness of Carol and Steve who run this B & B. Nothing was too much trouble. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable, food was good and well cooked. Advice re 'where to go' was great. Have got nothing but good to say about this B & B. We will be back I'm sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We arrived quite late afternoon on a pouring wet day and had only just decided to stay in Dumfries for the night.
Right from the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The rooms were spotless and comfortable.
Breakfast the next morning was brilliant - I know it always tastes better when someone else makes it but it really was tasty.
Carol and Steve were excellent hosts and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweinfurt, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I had the misfortune to come down with a horrible lurgy a couple of days after arriving to work in Dumfries. Carol and Steve went to great lengths to try and make sure i was as comfortable as possible and warm enough throughout my 3 days of illness.
They even made me some sandwiches for my trip back down the road the day i left.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platonick109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Carol and Steve are excellent hosts, very welcoming and easy to get on with.
The rooms are clean and tidy and well equipped with tea / coffee making facilities and tv.
Breakfast was very generous and cooked to perfection.
Were mountain bikers and have stayed with them numerous times, I have no problem recommending this to my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreerideRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We arrived earlier than we thought but our room was ready even though there had been a problem with flooding.
First impression was not bad nice big room and beds looked clean and comfortable.
Went to make a drink there wasn't any tea and only couple of milk. Okay it's no big deal we can get some later. Breakfast the next morning no milk in fridge for cereals. No sugar in dish on table. Salt pot was empty no sauces. I gathered some from the other tables and breakfast was delicious. After a full day out went back to room still no tea had to fetch some from breakfast room. The biscuits that were in our room had been opened by someone see and half eaten. The next morning still nothing had been topped up breakfast okay had to ask for everything. It should have been available. Had full breakfast again on day three. The sausage tasted like it was off. Day four same scenario at breakfast. Our room didn't get serviced so still no tea milk etc. We were told it would be done later but it was not touched. There was a distinct feeling that no one could be bothered to look after us. The room was quite dusty cobwebs were hanging from the ceiling the top of the wardrobe was dusty, the curtains very tired looking and hanging down and the lampshade was full of dust. The only good thing the beds were clean and comfortable.
At £58.00 a night this is not what we expected.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaz_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindean, Owner at Lindean Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
In response to the above review. We, (Steve and Carol), have been deeply affected by the experience of the above guest's review and therefore would like to respond to to the individual points raised. We could and would have easily and willingly dealt with the issues raised at the time if they had been brought to our attention, but we were given no indication that the guests were disatisfied in any way during their stay.

The room was thoroughly cleaned and prepared that morning. New stock had been purchased for the hospitality trays that day and I was aware that the room tray needed to be topped up, however, kaz_50 arrived 4-5 hours before their given ETA and as acknowledged we were dealing with the urgency of a flooded cellar to our private area. Had the guests arrived as expected or called to say they would be arriving earlier, the hospitality tray would have been fully stocked on their arrival.

To ensure that our valued guests receive breakfast in the optimum freshness and without waiting, we operate a menu system where guests make their choice for cooked dishes the evening before and tick the time they would like it. The dining room fridge is freshly stocked with milk, orange juice and yoghurts each morning, and the tables laid in time for the first diners. Again if guests arrive in the dining room well in advance of the time they are expected we may not have yet put the said items out. We are always happy to be flexible and anything that our diners require is provided willingly. We do not accept that any of our produce is ever 'off'. Meat stock is purchased very frequently and frozen on the day of purchase. The required amount is thawed daily in a refridgerator.

Rooms are serviced daily between the hours of 10-12am by our cleaning staff and we pride ourselves on the high standard of cleanliness at the Lindean . The room was cleaned every day apart from the day kaz_50 chose to return to their room after breakfast to well into the afternoon, staff are not expected to enter rooms that are occupied by sleeping guests. Top up teas, coffees, towels etc are available on request and a supply is also left on the landing table.

For £58 per night kaz_50 had the benefits of a large, clean, bright family room (1 double & 1 single bed) with plentiful breakfasts, hospitality tray, towels, toiletries, free WiFi and parking. We pride ourselves in being friendly and flexible hosts and believe that the Lindean Guest House offers excellent facilities and value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Burnett House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Waverley Guest House
The Waverley Guest House
#43 of 52 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#45 of 52 in Dumfries
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torbay Lodge Guest House
Torbay Lodge Guest House
#13 of 52 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dumfries Villa
Dumfries Villa
#12 of 52 in Dumfries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindean Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindean Guest House

Property: Lindean Guest House
Address: 50 Rae Street, Dumfries DG1 1JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Lindean Guest House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing