We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hosts”

Lindean Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lindean Guest House
Ranked #38 of 49 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Maryborough, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Hosts”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Carol and Steve were just wonderful hosts and offered us a very warm welcome into their beautiful home. The room was huge and very comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. We had some great chats with Carol and Steve was the perfect gentleman doing all the lifting of our luggage which as I was travelling with my elderly Mum was most appreciated. The Lindean Guest House is in a most convenient location to the Ewart St Library for those of you who are researching your Scottish ancestry. Steve makes a mean porridge and his cooked brekkies are delightful. I fully recommend a stay with Carol and Steve at Lindean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
5
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rogaska Slatina, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We came to the house very late in the evening, I think it was already 10 p.m., no reservation and the landlady already went to bed. Her husband helped us with a room, which was en-suite for three adults, very spacious and very clean and just for 70 GBP. We wanted to visit a pub and Mr. Steve gave us a fine suggestion which we took gladly. It was a nice, short walk to the pub, the Lindean Guest house has a very good location, just five minutes to the city center. There was a list of choices for breakfast on our beds and we could choose what we wanted to eat for breakfast. In the morning we found a little fridge in the dining room and there was fresh, cold milk and juice, joghurts, there were cereals on the shelf, Mrs. Carol brought fresh tea and coffee and the cooked breakfast that we chose the previous day. it was very tasty.
It was a very nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjasa644302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steventon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed at the Lindean for 5 days (was in Dumfries on business) and I was blown away by the place. I stayed in both a single en suite and then a double en suite and the rooms were immaculate, they were tastefully decorated, the beds were PHENOMENAL I honestly haven't slept so well for months! The facilities were amazing - high speed internet connection (my laptop is an extension of myself!) as well as colour TVs - I can't speak for all the rooms but the single en suite has a DVD player built into the TV which is a huge bonus - especially after a long day in the office.

As I was on a holiday of sorts I treated myself to the full cooked breakfast, which despite some reviews on TA, was absolutely fantastic! Every morning I sat down to it it was roasting hot, of top quality and the perfect way to start the day! I did intend to work my way down the varied breakfast menu but with a cooked breakfast as amazing as the one I had, I didn't want to have anything else.

The hosts of this wonderful part of the world are brilliant. They are attentive, affable and all round gems. I would have no problem staying at the Lindean Guest House again and said as much to my companion (who also loved this place) and even if I'm not on a "working holiday" would hope to stay there again.

So whatever you want to take away from my review all you need to know is that this guest house is a great place to stay at, it's warm and friendly and is perfectly situated for the town centre and I would recommend the Lindean to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I feel bad to give this B&B an average review as the hosts are really friendly. However my stay there was cold and I did not really enjoy the breakfasts. The heater in my room was broken and no replacement was put in the room. I slept by doubling up my duvet (which was very thin) and packing pillows around myself. The rooms were kept very clean but are quite dated. The cooked breakfasts were not a very high quality but the porridge was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nessers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Dont hesitate to stay here. Very high standard of room, cleanliness and Carol and Steve are excellent owners and very welcoming. Breakfast was perfection. If Im back in Dumfries this is where I will stay. A++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++. Davie from Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daviebrycer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

A clean and well kept B & B with a most hospitable Hostess. My only complaint here was that the mattress on the double bed was in dire need of being changed, it was most uncomfortable to sleep on, this was pointed out to Carol in the morning ..... it must be difficult to know when beds need to be renewed as the Proprietors never sleep on them! Breakfast was tasty .....

Room Tip: Ask about the mattress!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We were very impressed by the kindness of Carol and Steve who run this B & B. Nothing was too much trouble. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable, food was good and well cooked. Advice re 'where to go' was great. Have got nothing but good to say about this B & B. We will be back I'm sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.0 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#41 of 49 in Dumfries
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Waverley Guest House
The Waverley Guest House
#39 of 49 in Dumfries
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burnett House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Morton Villa B&B
Morton Villa B&B
#17 of 49 in Dumfries
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
White Hart Hotel
#40 of 49 in Dumfries
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Torbay Lodge Guest House
Torbay Lodge Guest House
#13 of 49 in Dumfries
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lindean Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindean Guest House

Property: Lindean Guest House
Address: 50 Rae Street, Dumfries DG1 1JE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Lindean Guest House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing