We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaing stress free break away from the busy life i lead”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merlin B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Merlin B&B
Ranked #10 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A relaing stress free break away from the busy life i lead”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have recently returned from my second visit to the Merlin this year .
When it comes to choosing a place for a relaxing weekend away the Merlin is the only place to go.
There are no negatives to say abot the Merlin, it is home from home the smell of the freshly cooked breafkfast when you open the bedroom door in the morning is nostalgic and reminds me of the perfect sunday morning .
The hospitality shown by Beatrice and Jim is fantastic .
I will never stay anywhere else other than the Merlin in Dumfries it has to the best BaB in Scotland .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimmybutcher26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
55
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed here in August 2011 along with two other couples who are friends for a wedding.
All of us agreed that the stay was very enjoyable and would definately stay again if we were to return to Dumfries.

-Rooms are clean, comfortable and furnishings of a high quality
-The owners Beatrice and James are very friendly and helpful
-location was ideal, 5 mins walk to the centre of Dumfries
-good choice of breakfast and tasted great
-very reasonably priced in comparison to other hotels and b and b's in the area

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

thank you Beatrice and Jim. the food was execellent, lovely room and a great atmosphere. we would recommend you to anyone. the hotel is next to the river and parks, we had some lovely walks, and the town is just across the river (5 min walk). there is something for everyone. there is plenty to see and do.
thank you for help sandra and stewart waddicor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewlasiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Comfortable Cosy and welcoming, we were well looked after thankyou so much. Would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2011

I went up for a wedding, staying 3 nights. The place is very well situated, with a wonderful view of the river. Only a short and safe walk to town and all the sights as well as an excellent well renowned pub/restaurant. There was a friendly Scottish welcome and I was made to feel right at home. It is beautifully looked after, breakfasts were good and always served with friendly chit chat which is great when you travel on your own.
Although the facilities are shared, they are kept meticulous and as there are only 3 rooms this is not a drawback.
If you are going to Dumfries I would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Two rooms face the river, try and book one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cher013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

On arrival Jim & Beatrice made us feel extremely welcome. The accommodation and standard of breakfast are excellent. I would highly recommend this guest house and will certainly use it again when we visit Dumfries.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KinrossManni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My partner and I stay here on the first night of our motor bike weekend. Our hosts were very friendly and were happy for us to put our Royal Enfield hire motor bike in their back garden.
The room was large and comfortable, it was not en suite, but we were provided with a dressing gown and slippers to protect our modesty when going to the toilet and large bathroom which were just next door. It was a great shower and a nice touch was the variety of shampoos and body lotions to choose from.
Breakfast was at a large table shared with other guests in a pleasantly decorated dining room. We would recommend the Scottish Breakfast it was delicious.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie_marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
996 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
0.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.7 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 52 in Dumfries
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rivendell B&B
Rivendell B&B
#8 of 52 in Dumfries
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merlin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merlin B&B

Property: Merlin B&B
Address: 2 Kenmure Terrace, Dumfries DG2 7QX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the River Nith, The Merlin Guest Bed & Breakfast enjoys a prime location, minutes away from the town centre, pubs, restaurants and local tourist attractions. With over 30 years experience, this popular and well established family business sees customers returning time after time. All bedrooms are tastefully decorated incorporating a blend of traditional and modern themes. River views are available on 2 of the rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Merlin Hotel Dumfries
Merlin Bed And Breakfast
Merlin B&B Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing