We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #43 of 48 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“surprisingly amazing”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I was in dumfries again today on business, after the reviews I have read over the past week I have been utterly surprised, I came into this establishment for the hunters chicken and the fudge cake, I could not find one fault! The chicken was so juicy and the sauce they use on the chicken was amazing, the fudge cake wasnt too sickly either,the bar staff couldnt be more helpful, all the staff are a credit to this establishment and need to keep up the good work, everywhere has theyre faults at times but the queensberry hotel has truly turned themselves around with their reputation.

Thanks for a wonderful meal and servuce

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspectorrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    10
    28
    12
    40
See reviews for
11
36
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

It was terrible, hardly any lighting couldn't see a thing the food took on average half an hour for it to arrive when it did it was cold. The presentation was over the top when the chips arrived due to the silly baskets you only got like 10 chips. The salad was just slapped on the side and the drinks as well took a very long time to arrive. The coffee was cold and tasted like hot water with no taste, we could of just got up and left also there was no waiters or waitresses a place like that should have some. Had to pay for the food before it arrived so couldn't feel like I could make a complaint due to already paying. The tables were very greasy. It was terrible how we had to sit in a separate area if you under 18 we had to listen to crying kids and their screeching while eating dinner we should have a choice to sit where we want. I saw so many people asking where their food was and they had to go up and get their own cutlery.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJQ37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dumfries hotels

Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Went for lunch time and had nachos and my partner had the hunter chicken which was sent back as it was cold. My child had a kids meal which was okay but said it never came with a drink even thou it said on the menu it did?? My nachos were freezing and were rock hard like they had been open for days. Won't be back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy09095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The staff on arrival were helpful and allowed us to check-in a little earlier.The room and bedding was clean and the shower was amazing! unfortunately our stay was let down by lots of noise outside with a couple yelling at each other at about 4pm...which after hearing their life story they finished about 5... could of been entertaining but my husband had to be up at 6 am for a round of pre wedding golf......however slept till 8 and had a relaxing albeit frugal breakfast, not a bad night for 50 quid! (ooh and a few mosquito bites too....less i hope they are )

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I visited this pub at lunchtime. While my husband was ordering drinks I went to the loo. Horrific experience. 2 toilets had no loo seat. Another had no paper. And another had an overflowing sanitary bin.
Tables in the bar had not been cleaned properly and were all sticky.
And people were eating here!
We drank up & left quickly. A very unpleasant experience.
Drinks are cheap but that is the only thing in it's favour and doesn't excuse the lack of basic hygiene.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LizBroxburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Lovely big room - even with sofa bed in use and cot bed. Bedroom up on 2nd floor so far away from pub noise downstairs. Locked door separates accommodation from bar customers. Only comment is that no bedding was provided with cot but as we had our own it was not an issue. Great location right in centre of town, and good value for money (especially as breakfast was included). A bit of a maze to get to rooms and lots of stairs but wasn't an issue for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed for a few days and what a good deal. The room was excellent, tea/coffee making facilities, and a fabulous shower!! Heat wave when we were there so this was an absolute joy. The bar and resteraunt were also first class. The bar was very comfortable with some lovely quiet areas and the food was not only good quality but good value too. The room included breakfast with a wide choice. Excellent full English (do you say that in Scotland??) and all served promptly and by very friendly staff. In fact all the staff were very friendly and attentive and it helped make it all so very enjoyable. I understand the Queensberry is under new management so they're obviously doing something right. First class.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dumbhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#17 of 48 in Dumfries
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
White Hart Hotel
#40 of 48 in Dumfries
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensberry Hotel

Property: The Queensberry Hotel
Address: 12 English Street, Dumfries DG1 2BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queensberry Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing