We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“upgrade needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #44 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A bed for the night of a family wedding in Dumfries was the reason for booking here. It has a good town centre location and the staff are all friendly but later on you realise that this is basically a very lively pub for the younger set, which happens to have bedrooms upstairs. If you are used to modern Premier Inn or Ibis accommodation it falls short, but for a basic clean room with a shower it's OK.
Breakfast was somewhat naff but enough to get the day started, but I actually quite enjoyed waiting for my bacon and egg whilst looking at the various carpets and wallcoverings in the eating area, none of which matched !! Needs a good refurb.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wacfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

First impression of service by sullen girl who took check in was not good although other members of staff helpful and pleasant Large well used pub/restaurant Area leading to bedrooms a bit smelly in places Lots of areas need repair or paint Room small clean enough but shower door off and propped against wall Good central locatrion but unsurprisingly noisy later in evening Basic breakfast with smal choice of cereal adn only one jug of juice but cooked breakifast well cooked and tasty Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: 11 quitea hike through a few doors and staircases to reach this room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here sat 3rd may. We arrived around 1pm and we were allowed to check in, we didn't realise check in was from 3pm. The boy that checked us in was really nice and friendly. The room was clean but basic which was fine. The hotel is in a great location, right in the middle of the town. At night we stayed for drinks at the hotel, the place started to get busy around 11pm and there was a dj playing which was good.
We had a really good time at this hotel. Would definatly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juls2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Been to this hotel on 3 occasions over the past 18 months. Steadily getting dirtier with poor service and general cleanliness a disgrace. No menus on table and asked waitress if this was the only menu. Barely a descent reply and had to get further menus from another member of staff. Menus were grubby and dirty. Waited 40 minutes on food arriving even though pub was not busy. Food spilled off plate by waitress without an apology or effort to tidy up. Left with food uneaten. As for cleanliness; staff must be going around with eyes shut. Sticky tables and carpets. Dust and waste food in corners. Plaster and cracking on walls and toilets a disgrace. This is a town centre hotel that could be a thriving business. New management required urgently !

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank MBT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Great location , when arrived you have to check in at the bar , the girl was very unhelpful , no pleasantries what so ever , as we'd had never stayed before had to ask about breakfast times etc , and how do we get back in after a late night , expect one word answers . Rooms clean & tidy , a bit noisy late at night but very comfortable stay wouldn't recommended for family's with children . The staff in the evening very friendly & welcoming . Breakfast was ok pretty standard tho .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Central location must be a big plus. We went for an evening meal and were disappointed. The menus were very dirty and stuck together with staples and cello-tape. Quite e few items on the menu were not available. The tables were sticky and the seats well worn. The food was well cooked but lacking in appearance with no garnishing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank warboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Place a mess stinks on dampness stay there one nite . For some reason bar staff just want cash . Stayed for one nite ordered food some drinks it was ok . Stayed in bar for a few drinks on my fourth round I was asked to leave cause I did not have cash asked answer cause u have too wat a joke took my card for room food n 3 drinks then decided not too . In the morn had breakfast decided to go to toilet my god I was in shock with the mess

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 007123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,102 reviews
6.3 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
2 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.2 mi away
Aberdour Hotel
Aberdour Hotel
#42 of 52 in Dumfries
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hamilton House
Hamilton House
#6 of 52 in Dumfries
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queensberry Hotel

Address: 12 English Street, Dumfries DG1 2BT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range: £49 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Queensberry Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your The Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queensberry Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing