We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rab187”
Review of Dumfries Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dumfries Villa
Ranked #10 of 48 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“rab187”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

the B&B was very good room was large and cleaned to high standard, very good breakfast dining room big and bright.Well done by Colin and the young girl assistant very helpful.Well located for train and town would use again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_jardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    34
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
37
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The B&B is very well located, close to the Train Station and to the town center. It is nice and comfortable, the room are very clean ad neat and the breakfast wonderful. Great job of the girl working there, friendly and helpful! I'll go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My hubby and I had a two night, bed and breakfast stay here. We had a lovely, comfy and clean bedroom above the dining room. The front windows faced onto the church and the side window looked toward the station. A big bright room. An iron and ironing board were provided and hair dryer. Saves on packing ! A coffee table and two chairs placed next to the big bay window was a nice touch. The usual tea,coffee and biscuits made up a nice hospitality tray. Breakfast was very good with everything you would want available, the only wee fault I had was that tea and coffee were not served to your table. You had to go over to a bar area where the fruit juice and hot drinks were. You could have as much as you wanted but I did not like carrying hot drinks across the dining room. The garden was lovely with a nice summer seat for guests use. The guest house is very handy for the station, a two minute walk and five minutes to the town centre. If I visit Dumfries again I would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jintykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Dumfries Villa is a good value at reasonable prices. The room was larger than we expected although the bathroom is a little tight. Everything was very clean and the location is quiet with a restful night's sleep. Colin is very helpful with travel questions and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davemarylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

this is a lovely place to stay. friendly owner, very clean room. lovely decor. car park. few mins walk to centre of dumfries. great breakfast. nice and warm at the start of our winter!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Nice welcome from Colin and rooms clean, neat, nicely decorated and all the in-room facilities you might need. A short walk (5 mins if that) takes you into the middle of town where you have all the Burns 'must see's' and other historical sights in close proximity.
Breakfast was very good and sets you up nicely for the day. Nice touch offering porridge and a fried breakfast and toast. Rooms made up each day. Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Stayed here with my partner for the 1 night in may 2010.
Hotel is clean, tidy and good location for the local churches as we were staying here to attend a friends wedding. The owner is very friendly, organised and informative on the local area.

Rooms are basic but very clean. We had ensuite shower/bathroom double bed/one single bed and sitting area. Condiments were coffee tea etc.

The owner (Think his name was stuart) asks you the night before what you would like for breakfast by giving a tick a box option list. E.g Full breakfast/scramble egg/beans on toast/Type of toast etc. You can also mix and match and tea coffee juice, cereal,fruit,yougurt etc is self service. Dining area very clean and modern.

Only complaints about hotel but i guess is very petty is that there is one door downstairs that the owner constantly let slam shut as he walked through from his private living area to the main reception. This was very annoying when you are trying to sleep early morning. You dont mind it happening a few times but not 56 times in about 30 minutes.

Nothing to do with the hotel but dumfries is a town that has been badly hit by the recession with endless shops/pubs/restaurants boarded up and out of business.

On a whole very good hotel. If you are coming up to the area for a wedding? Stay here!! You cant go wrong.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajabanaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 mi away
Glenaldor House
Glenaldor House
#1 of 48 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 48 in Dumfries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumfries Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries Villa

Property: Dumfries Villa
Address: 33 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dumfries Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dumfries Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Villa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing