We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay”
Review of Dumfries Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dumfries Villa
Ranked #10 of 49 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed upstairs in the streetside room. Very very close walk to the Dumfries rail station. Rooms were large enough for 3-4 people. Breakfast was great. Owner was offsite, but the young lady onsite was gracious enough to allow us to check in early. Five minute walk from downtown center to see all of Robert Burns' haunts and stomping grounds. Only complaints were the old crunchy-like towels and the loud toilet. Flushing it made me laugh uncontrollably. It was so LOUD. Poor people next door probably thought it was a jack hammer. Other than that, the positives outweighed the negatives.

Room Tip: Go with an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strawbossdoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
39
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

What a beautiful little guest house, The b&b is in a great location as you can access any part of the town and shops at a mere 5 minute walk in any direction the rooms are clean and airy with charming decor. Breakfast is well organised and deliouus with all options full scottish contanental and vegy opptions. whats nice is that down the road a mere 2 minute walk you can get a evining meal and a drink. the owner colin and his staff were wounderfuly friendly and helpfull I would most certanly stay again and recomend to friends and family.

Georgina Liverpool

Room Tip: Book early esspacially around the scottish ice skating championships as it will fill up quickly they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouse_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

the B&B was very good room was large and cleaned to high standard, very good breakfast dining room big and bright.Well done by Colin and the young girl assistant very helpful.Well located for train and town would use again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_jardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The B&B is very well located, close to the Train Station and to the town center. It is nice and comfortable, the room are very clean ad neat and the breakfast wonderful. Great job of the girl working there, friendly and helpful! I'll go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItalianCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My hubby and I had a two night, bed and breakfast stay here. We had a lovely, comfy and clean bedroom above the dining room. The front windows faced onto the church and the side window looked toward the station. A big bright room. An iron and ironing board were provided and hair dryer. Saves on packing ! A coffee table and two chairs placed next to the big bay window was a nice touch. The usual tea,coffee and biscuits made up a nice hospitality tray. Breakfast was very good with everything you would want available, the only wee fault I had was that tea and coffee were not served to your table. You had to go over to a bar area where the fruit juice and hot drinks were. You could have as much as you wanted but I did not like carrying hot drinks across the dining room. The garden was lovely with a nice summer seat for guests use. The guest house is very handy for the station, a two minute walk and five minutes to the town centre. If I visit Dumfries again I would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jintykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Dumfries Villa is a good value at reasonable prices. The room was larger than we expected although the bathroom is a little tight. Everything was very clean and the location is quiet with a restful night's sleep. Colin is very helpful with travel questions and the breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davemarylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

this is a lovely place to stay. friendly owner, very clean room. lovely decor. car park. few mins walk to centre of dumfries. great breakfast. nice and warm at the start of our winter!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,046 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
0.4 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#19 of 49 in Dumfries
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torbay Lodge Guest House
Torbay Lodge Guest House
#13 of 49 in Dumfries
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumfries Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries Villa

Property: Dumfries Villa
Address: 33 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dumfries Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Dumfries Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dumfries Villa Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing