We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill Food”
Review of Nith Hotel

Nith Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nith Hotel
Ranked #14 of 48 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brill Food”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Best steaks in the whole dumfries area, good service and very tasty pints of tennents lager! Personal favourate is the highland chicken, very tasty, very good value for money. Look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyFlanny91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    28
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
25
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We discovered this hotel on our way to explore Caerlaverock Castle. The staff at the castle recommneded it as well as a nearby B&B. The hotel is situated overlooking the River Nith and Solway estuary and the views are mesmerising. We booked a room for the night and dinner in the restaurant. The place is lovely and clean and welcoming - freshly hung hanging baskets and welcoming smiles from the staff. Our bedroom was clean and had all one could need. Dinner in the restaurant was the best nmeal we had enjoyed all week in Scotland and the steak is a must.
Previous comments about a long wait are inexplicable as there are signs informaing guests that all meals are cooked freshly to order. and there could be a delay. Our meal did not take a long time to arrive and the attentiveness of the staff to our preferences was 5*. All in all an enjoybale stay and as one regular told us - this is a best kept secret...... but not really by judging how many people were eating at the hotel on a Thursday evening. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooked the carpark and river - very quiet when we stayed, but if there is a function in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

went for bar lunch service and food was excellent could not fault it in anyway. A lovely warm welcome from members of staff and very helpful particularly with pleasing fussy eaters. i do recomend the sweet and sour it is to die for. Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Approx a year ago I along with my partner and my sister visited this hotel for lunch..
We placed our orders and waited for our food to appear. My starter finally appeared after a considerable amount of time.
After consuming my starter I sat back and waited for our main course.
While waiting a number of other persons came in and for some reason were served before us.
After about 30mins and with no sign of our main course I enquired at the bar to what was happening to be told our order had been over looked. As I am an insulin dependant diabetic I require to eat my full meal within 20 mins of my insulin being administered which I explained to the barman who took our order. The young man did not appear interested and was unable to confirm how long the meal would take. We therefore decided to cancel the order and move on to another hotel for lunch. On returning home I wrote three letters to the owner complaining about the situation that arose during our visit to the hotel. I also wrote a review on this web site which appears to have been removed I assume due to the content of my complaint. It has now been over a year since our visit and I still have not received a response from the owner of the hotel
to any of my letters. Needless to say I will not be returning to this hotel in the near future.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumfires
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Went for lunch. Food was great, the steaks were some of the best I have tried. Servce was a little slow and it wouldn't have hurt the staff to smile a little. Decor and furniture really needs an update. Overall a lovely place to go eat, food was great and a good amount of choice. Would return and recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank carlyby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Planned a bird-watching holiday based at the hotel for a week in March. On the second day we were snowed in and stayed that way for two days. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful and considerate - we could bird-watch through the picture windows of the dining room and were supplied with unlimited tea and coffee! Meals were first class. We had a great time despite the weather, largely due to the hotel and its staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wugfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

That's the second time I've been to the nith this year and the second time we've all came away full & contented. The party consisted of 4 adults & 2 kids. Everyone had different mains & none could be faulted. I had a 16oz steak which was like a man v food moment cooked medium the way I liked it. The steak pie didn't disappoint either(might have that the next time i go) or did the seafood pasta special. A couple of us had the home soup which hit the spot. The other starters were fine aswell & a couple of us enjoyed some puddings aswell. Food & drink prices are very reasonable, can't complain at all. Great views of the nith from the dining room. Only slight grumble would be that the place needs modernising but who cares when your getting decent grub at decent prices. I'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Veritas41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
4.8 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,032 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
641 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Manor Country House Hotel
11.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nith Hotel

Property: Nith Hotel
Address: Glencaple, Dumfries DG1 4RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Nith Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing