We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal”
Review of Nith Hotel

Nith Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nith Hotel
Ranked #14 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Very nice setting overlooking the river Nith, we were greeted by a nice friendly girl behind the bar, service was good with nice staff & the food was lovely. I had Scampi & my hubby had 16oz gammon steak, cheesecake & sticky toffee pudding very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Nith Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a great Hotel the food is excellent and the rooms are spacious and very clean, the breakfast was outstanding. The views from the Hotel are marvellous. We can recommend the Nith without a doubt.

Room Tip: great food at a good price ,and large glean room overlooking the river
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fawsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I had been to the Nith hotel once in the evening and had enjoyed their food so much that i had persuaded a few friends to go here for sunday lunch. We hadnt boked a table but the gentleman at the bar made sure their was room for us and we went up stairs to be seated. I was really dissapointed that in the time i had last been hear there had been no improvemnets to the decor. It really is a let down that the place looks so old and shabby. The carpet looks like something my gran had 30 years ago in her house and the wall paper is old and outdated. We were seated by the window which has amazing views over the water. The only problem was it was so hot. There was no ventalation in the restraunt the windows were all closed and we were all hot and botherd and couldnt wait to eat and leave. There was a large table booked in and also a function happening but it was still quiet enough. We all orderd the highland chicken as i had raved about it so much, but we were all really disapointed with it. The portion sizes were good. My chicken was really dry on the outside, the sauce which is usually packed with flavour and amazing was bland and tasteless. My bacon that was wrapped around the chicken was all fat, and grizzle. The waitress seemed really nice, and the gentleman at the bar was lovley as well when we went to pay. For £12 each i would have hoped the meal to be really good. If they would just up date the decor i think the place could be really good! I just hope if i ever go back that the food has a bit more flavour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Me and my family decided to call in for Sunday lunch. However, we only stayed for the meal and not overnight in a room.

Dated and run-down decor, didn't feel or smell particularly clean, the food was bland and uninspired, "medium-rare" sirloin steak was tough, chewy and well-done, chips were awful, the peas and carrots were clearly from a tin, despite the peas being advertised in the menu as "garden peas", offered condiments and a sticky and encrusted bottle of HP sauce was plonked on the table, pleasant view of a wasp squashed against the window right next to my chair.

Overall, this restaurant needs to be gutted, modernised and the menu updated and improved greatly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffExcellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My fiance & I enjoyed a delicious lunch at this hotel today. The hotel is in a nice rural location & there are lovely views. The staff were very pleasant & service was excellent. The food was delicious, fresh, home cooked & piping hot.I would recommend you to visit if you haven't already.

Room Tip: We visited for lunch only.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Best steaks in the whole dumfries area, good service and very tasty pints of tennents lager! Personal favourate is the highland chicken, very tasty, very good value for money. Look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyFlanny91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We discovered this hotel on our way to explore Caerlaverock Castle. The staff at the castle recommneded it as well as a nearby B&B. The hotel is situated overlooking the River Nith and Solway estuary and the views are mesmerising. We booked a room for the night and dinner in the restaurant. The place is lovely and clean and welcoming - freshly hung hanging baskets and welcoming smiles from the staff. Our bedroom was clean and had all one could need. Dinner in the restaurant was the best nmeal we had enjoyed all week in Scotland and the steak is a must.
Previous comments about a long wait are inexplicable as there are signs informaing guests that all meals are cooked freshly to order. and there could be a delay. Our meal did not take a long time to arrive and the attentiveness of the staff to our preferences was 5*. All in all an enjoybale stay and as one regular told us - this is a best kept secret...... but not really by judging how many people were eating at the hotel on a Thursday evening. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Room 5 overlooked the carpark and river - very quiet when we stayed, but if there is a function in t...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,067 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
4.8 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Ken Bridge Hotel
Ken Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Galloway
117 reviews
11.0 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 52 in Dumfries
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nith Hotel

Address: Glencaple, Dumfries DG1 4RE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Nith Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing