We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
57
37
8
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
37
8
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland chicken dining room whiskey sauce daily specials menu chicken stroganoff wide menu overlooking the estuary enjoyed their food fab views last sunday lovely family run bar lunch dining area is kingsize bed generous portions lovely meal first class
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We've gone to the restaurant last night and tonight for our evening meals. The food is absolutely amazing! Delicious food, hearty servings and the staff are friendly, helpful and courteous.

Great place for the whole family to eat.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Food was of very good quality, plentiful and well priced. Nice relaxed atmosphere and great staff. Decor in the bar area is a little dated, there is however a more formal dining area within the hotel. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place for a meal.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

The Nith's main business is a large and popular restaurant overlooking the Nith estuary, 5 miles south of Dumfries, and they have 8 rooms, all overlooking the estuary and Criffel. The atmosphere is rather old fashioned - nothing fancy or hip about it - and the rooms are distinctly 1980s in feel and rather basically furnished, but the beds are warm and comfortable, good modern TV's, spacious ensuite.
What is exceptional is the service: always very cheerful and willing and the invariable response to anything we asked for was "Of course, no trouble."
We were first shown to Room 1 as the quietest twin room they have, but we found it rather claustrophobic. They immediately showed us Room 7 - second floor, brighter, better view, and perfectly quiet enough, even for me. They even had a quiet word for us with the chap in the next room when he'd had his TV on late at night.
Breakfast is similar - plentiful, rather old fashioned (very limited choice if you're not into cooked breakfast), and very cheerfully served.
We would definitely go back.

Room tip: Room 7 twin with great view from the bed.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albatross77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Recommended by locals we were a party of 6 people of which 3 were under 16. Interesting and varied adult menu and children had plenty to choose from the kids menu. Food fresh cooked and generous sizes. Deserts excellent too! We will return ; )

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

While in glencaple this hotel was just 200 yards from our holiday cottage. We ate there on the first night and then booked a second night before we left. The food was really tasty and cooked fresh. The staff were very busy but remain very friendly. My two girls both 15 really enjoyed the whole experience as do mysel and my husband, a definite yes to eating here again.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews