We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
57
37
8
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
37
8
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland chicken dining room whiskey sauce daily specials menu chicken stroganoff wide menu overlooking the estuary enjoyed their food fab views last sunday lovely family run bar lunch dining area is kingsize bed lovely meal first class portion sizes
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We booked a table and were shown courteously by the staff to our regular table. Very helpful and welcoming. The 16 oz steak is a winner and recommended for those after a busy day. The food was lovely and the staff were happy to make slight alterations to the menu to meet customer requests. The sweet potatoes were enjoyed and recommended by my dad. A nice change from chips or potatoes.

Room tip: Good food in a lovely quiet location
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We have had meals here before with no problems but not on this occasion. We had a great meal let down badly by the staff, when we finished our main meal we sat for 25 minutes waiting on our plates to be lifted and dessert orders taken. The staff were too busy setting tables, even though we were in at 5.30 and it was quiet, rather than helping customers, even though they walked past us several times even looking and seeing we were waiting but just ignored us. We ended up walking out and paying at the bottom bar, staff didn't even bother then. Sad to say won't be back due to bad staff.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile

We called in for a meal twice in April and March. It was the start and the end of our road trip around Scotland. Yes as others have said, from the outside it needs a coat of paint. It has good food very pleasant staff and it allows well behaved dogs. This is a place off the beaten track. And I love it.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank martyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

Having left a bad review regarding an evening meal we had a couple of year's ago...it was very poor.... I thaught I should place a good review regarding the breakfasts we have been served over this last winter. .They have all been far better than expected. Extra toast and coffee. .not a problem. ..excellent. .We will be back next winter..

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Went for an afternoon meal for 2 and decided on the Nith Hotel as we've never been before. On appearances it comes across as old fashioned and a bit tired looking. First meeting with a member of staff was not a good start. She bounded by us muttering a name and when directed by another member of staff to the upstairs eating area we were again met by the same member of staff who looked at us if we were trespassing and ready to commit a heinous crime. She asked if she could help us in a commanding head teachers voice if we were 2 naughty school children. However a couple of minutes later she made amends by placing us in a room over looking The Nith. The food was well presented, appetising, hot and lovely to taste. Recommend to anyone to visit.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank leggettmriainl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews