We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
57
37
8
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
37
8
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highland chicken dining room whiskey sauce daily specials menu chicken stroganoff wide menu overlooking the estuary enjoyed their food fab views last sunday lovely family run bar lunch dining area is kingsize bed lovely meal first class portion sizes
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2017

First visit to this hotel and certainly not the last. Great location, wonderful friendly helpful staff, great Scottish breakfast to start the day and terrific evening meal menu for all tastes and appetites. Great to learn early on that most of the people I met on my stay had been to the hotel on several occasions before, always a good sign in my opinion.
Great pint of Caledonian Best & a steak pie that really is up with the best of them!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sassyg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch. Menu seems unchanged in about a decade. Food was average at best. Potatoes, carrots and cauliflower all quite hard and some of the carrots were cold. Very disappointed. One of the waiting staff was very polite and friendly but one of the females gave us the impression that she couldn't smile if her life depended on it. Can't see us being back any time soon.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alecr666x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

have been to a few places.s in dumfries area but have found the ninth hotel Glencaple the best so far bar meal really nice and staff friendly and very helpful nice views over the ninth parking a bit of a issue but otherwise great place for a nice meal and great menu

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We visited Nith Hotel for a meal last Sunday. The hotel was extremely clean, staff very professional and dining area very pretty with a lovely view over the river. I chose the Sunday lunch and I have to say it was the best Sunday lunch I have ever had when dining out - so hats off to the chef, beautiful food and I hope he/she got the praise I left. The steak was just as yummy as the roast which my husband thorougly enjoyed and all left just enough room for sweet, which again did not let us down.

We only enjoyed the food at this hotel, so unable to comment on the rooms or facilities

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sharonburchett1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Popped into the Nith Hotel while staying in Dumfries. My wife is in a wheelchair and accessibility was great PLUS we had our Yorkshire Terrier with us. We were given the choice of the bar to eat in or the wee room next to the restaurant and chose the latter. The lunchtime food was really good, well cooked and quality good too. The menu was extensive and choice brilliant. It is wonderful to find a place that not only accepts dogs but likes them too. The staff were so friendly and made us feel so welcome

Room tip: All rooms good
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genie1Westyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews