We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Dumfries & Hungry”
Review of Cavens Arms

Cavens Arms
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Stranraer
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“In Dumfries & Hungry”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

If you are in Dumfries and you are hungry. You want nonsense good food, with terrific service. You can do no wrong by stepping through the door of the Cavens Arms. Staff are friendly, always willing to cater for every justifiable whim.

The food is what it says on the menu but tastier than you could imagine. Word of warning always check the specials menu as it's often varied. I really have a weakness for the Gammon Steak & Chips Pineapple/Egg... my mouth is watering at the mere thought of it.

I try to get to Cavens Arms at least once a month, more is a bonus. Sweets, yes please they are all scrummy, and cover the full spectrum but I won't be able to fit all of them in my tummy. Despite it looking like it very well could.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    261
    75
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dalbeattie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Warm friendly atmosphere and tasty food in large portions”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Ate here on a Thursday evening and the restaurant was busy, but still plenty room for us and the staff were very attentive and helpful. We had simple starters like prawn cocktails which were delicious, followed by two main courses of duck and two mains of T-bone steaks, cooked to perfection. The ladies couldn't quite manage a dessert, but the guys managed large slabs of sticky toffee pudding with ice cream and lemon meringue pie and fresh cream that could easily have fed two. With various beers and soft drinks, the bill came to £120 for four. Lush food, great staff, very clean and tidy premises and great service, we would highly recommend The Cavens Arms.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, New York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A true gem”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We happened upon this place for lunch en route from edinborough to Lake District, England and as it had sign in front boasting "Pub of the Year" we went in. Well, they deserve the accolade and then some. The ambiance was neighborhood eatery, real clean and cheerful.The lunch was delicious, plentiful and very fairly priced, plus the waitstaff were just down-home nice. Our waitress went so far as to steer us away from what she thought was less than great (in her opinion only) and recommended extras where needed. We ordered fish and chips ( which in our quest throughout our Scotland/England trip for the best F & C, won hands down) and pork cutlets with Stilton and leeks served with "bubble & squeak" (mash w/bacon ans cabbage)which dish was incredible. And for a bonus, homemade shortbread.
Finding this place was a wonderful surprise.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AUDEIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely treat”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

food very tastie never disappointed staff very helpful only if you go on a friday or saturday night you might have a wait for a table

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank frankie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal.”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

It is easy to see why The Cavens Arms has won the CAMRA pub of the year six times in a row. For a real ale drinker this place is a must visit while in Dumfries. It is one of the few places that offer 1/3 pint measures for sampling the many ales on offer. We had lunch one day and dinner the next and found the food and service to be excellent and the menu varied and also home made. High quality food and drink at sensible prices. We loved it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavens Arms also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Cavens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing