We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food at affordable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cavens Arms

Cavens Arms
Ranked #3 of 133 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food at affordable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Enjoyed a early evening meal here in July. Vast menu at affordable prices. Wine a little expensive but the beer reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    254
    71
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Visited cavens last night busy lovely atmosphere .The food was wonderful large portions and value for money .disagree that it is overpriced .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 263396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Never fails to deliver !!'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family and I enjoy eating out and when it comes to great food, great atmosphere from the staff and customers, the Cavens Arms is hard to beat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joe_mcginley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The only thing I find wrong with it is you have to wait over an hour sometimes on Saturday night and you cannot book for under 12..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brendageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
298 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Very tasty food, comfortable bar to watch the World Cup”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited Cavens on the night Brazil disgraced themselves. It was a week day night and the pub was full. I had thought it was a soccer watching crowd but when the game started there were only about six of us in the comfortable lounge area of the bar watching the game, so I'm assuming the rest came for the food. I thoroughly enjoyed the sweet and savoury apple and pork sausage special with leek mash.My partner had a chicken dish that he found a little plain but well cooked.
I've heard that Scotland is having a haggis revival and I noticed at least four haggis dishes on the menu. The Haggis, Neeps & Tatties with Whisky cream sauce sounds delicious and sadly I didn't have time to return and try it. The service here is efficient which is good when you attract crowds on weeknights. I noticed that this was pub of the year in 2013 and I can understand why.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank piercesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavens Arms also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Cavens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing