We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality pub food”
Review of Cavens Arms

Cavens Arms
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality pub food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Visited with my mother for an early evening meal. Given a choice of where to sit and offered drinks upon being seated. We had 3 courses and each course was delicious and brought fairly quickly. We asked to hold off for a pudding until we had digested our mains and this was not a problem.

Would definitely recommend and return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhant11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    261
    75
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely setting. Fantastic food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Visited the restaurant for dinner when staying at a B&B nearby. Limited choice but food was beautifully presented and husband reported the steak to have been one of the best he had ever tasted.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fisheatingveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Genuine Homemade Food”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We visited with six family members on a Saturday evening and did not book, expecting it to be quiet however it was packed full due to a local event. We arrived at 7.30pm and were not seated until 9.20. However the waiting staff were taking orders whilst we were still waiting for our order as that way when we are seated our meal can be cooked straight away instead of having to wait. This is a very good idea! Once seated the service was very quick, I had a burger with cheese and bacon no relish. The burger was as promised home made as was all the meals. The lasagne is huge so be warned. All the portions were of generous sizes and all meals on the menu stated homemade it really was real homemade food, although I find this word gets thrown about so easily these days. The burger was not the usual round same shape, it was different thickness across the burger and an oval shape. The fish and chips was haddock and it was freshly battered to order. Steak pie absolutely beautiful according to my husband. The plates are cleared quickly, instead of having one waiter or waitress to defined areas they all help each other which is better. I was the only one to have a dessert and I chose Lemon Meringue Pie and once again as promised it was authentically homemade as it was huge with real lemon rind in it and fluffy meringue with thick pastry. Only down side was my slice of pie was very sour, I could hardly eat it. I don't like cream or ice cream with my puddings so not sure if this was partially to blame or not. I told the owner but his response was that everyone else's has been fine and they have had compliments on it!! My slice was obviously the wrong one to have, although not sure because I am English if he was disgruntled by this as on the same day I also experienced a cold welcome due to my origins. All in all a good meal, good service just make sure if you visit on a Friday /Saturday that you call to book a table. We visited whilst in Dumfries visiting family as my husband is Scottish. We also had his daughtet and boyfriend with us. Along with my husbands sister in law and niece who are Scottish. Good bar prices and selection too.

Helpful?
Thank katye1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food at affordable prices”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Enjoyed a early evening meal here in July. Vast menu at affordable prices. Wine a little expensive but the beer reasonable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Visited cavens last night busy lovely atmosphere .The food was wonderful large portions and value for money .disagree that it is overpriced .

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank 263396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavens Arms also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to Cavens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing