We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific B & B”
Review of Hamilton House

Hamilton House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hamilton House
Ranked #7 of 49 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific B & B”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent the last few days of our UK vacation in the beautiful little town of Dumfries. We felt so happy here that we stayed on an extra need. Owners were terrific hosts. Large clean room with a wonderful breakfast. Location is nice and close to train and the town is less than fifteen minute walk away. Good value. Happy to recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 12steamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
59
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here on our journey up to NW Scotland. What a good choice it turned out to be. The staff were very welcoming and the room bright and very clean. The ensuite was small but fully functional. We had a very good nights sleep on the comfortable king size bed. Breakfast was in a light attractive room and meet all our expectations with a wide choice and good quality.

They take online bookings and we would recommend you book in advance as it is a popular place to stay.

The centre of Dumfries is a short distance away and there is a excellent Italian restaurant a short walk up the hill (Little Italy).

A recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wounded_Galaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for one night to break our journey up to Oban. The whole place is spotlessly clean, the bedroom was large, beautifully decorated and had a comfortable king-size bed. Breakfasts were good, and, in addition to the usual fry-ups, porridge, cereals and yoghurts, the fresh fruit salad was excellent. Eco and Fairtrade toiletries and drinks were an added bonus. The owners were friendly and efficient. A perfect stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strolling_Goldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,112 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 980 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

my partner and i were visiting dumfries, just for a day/night out and booked in to hamilton house as we enjoyed it on our last stay . as before host were welcoming, room was spotless to a high standard, bathroom and all other facilities were excellent. lovely comfortable bed, great night sleep. breakfast was delicious and eating area was spotless. good off street parking too. will return again in the summer. have already recommended to friends and family. fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This is a great B&B. The couple who run it went out of their way to help us. Not only did they organise dinner in a local restaurant but they gave us a lift there as it was pouring with rain! After a great sleep in a warm, comfortable and spacious room, breakfast was delicious and prepared very quickly. After a brilliant stay, they rounded things off with a lift to our event too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Superb accommodation at an excellent price. Stayed for a golf tour and cannot find any negative to write about. Rooms and ensuites spotlessly clean. Great location only 15 min walk from town . Ideal location for a number of great courses

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south west
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here for 1 night during a tour around Scotland. Received a friendly welcome from our host who showed us to our enormous room which was traditionally furnished. Comfortable bed and good shower. Excellent breakfast. Good off road parking. Although situated on a main road, traffic noise was not a problem even though we were on the ground floor at the front of the house. Plenty of advice about where to eat in Dumfries - our host even phoned ahead to book us a table. Highly recommend Hamilton House if you are in the area and need a bed for the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegenealogists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
0.4 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Huntingdon House Hotel
Huntingdon House Hotel
#2 of 49 in Dumfries
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenlossie Guest House
Glenlossie Guest House
#19 of 49 in Dumfries
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton House

Property: Hamilton House
Address: 12 Moffat Road, Dumfries DG1 1NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamilton House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hamilton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton House Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing