We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
Totally restored house lived in by jm barrie.excellent for.kids to visit

Cracking tourist attraction and the kids would love it ..all rooms depicting all aspects of... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
happywanderer1960
,
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
via mobile
Day of learning about Barrie’s Peter Pan .

Being from the birthplace of JM Barrie this was a must see attraction . Seeing and hearing about... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
MNic55
,
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Read all 87 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
62
12
6
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
62
12
6
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tinker bell children's literature great garden grown ups cake staff were lovely kids love story telling fabulous place adventure playground well worth a visit kids and adults play area jm barrie crocodiles moat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024

Great place, very well kept. Good coffee. Fantastic day out lots of pictures taken. Helpful staff. Great fun kids dressing up for role play. Great story of a great storyteller lots to do for families or 68 years old Grandad. We all enjoyed ourselves thoroughly I highly recommend this great interactive place go and enjoy yourself as much as my family did. Plenty of parking nearby.

Date of experience: April 2024
Thank stevedavies8089
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moat B, Manager at Moat Brae - Birthplace of Peter Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2024

Excellent that you had such a nice day out with us and really glad everyone enjoyed both young and old.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2023

The family at AtlasAdventured highly recommends visiting here!
We were looking for something fun indoors for our toddler to do, and came upon Moat Brae in our research. We were debating going or not, and I am so glad we chose to visit. It’s a very unassuming building, but the inside is so magical. When you enter you pass the cute gift shop filled with beautiful kids books and toys. The ladies at the front were so friendly and welcoming. They explained everything to us and got our daughter very excited. The cafe is also when you walk in. To explore the house you pay at the front and they give you/your child a fun trail hunt they can fill out while going through the house and gardens, and bring back for a surprise! We had so much fun exploring, picking up books in each room and finding a cozy place to sit and read. The theatre room was so much fun for our daughter, and the arts and crafts space. She was so happy to hang her creation on the wall! Chasing Tinkerbell and seeing Peter Pan’s shadow was one of her favorite memories from here. The garden is absolutely stunning. There is something fun to see everywhere you look. Climbing all over the Jolly Roger pirate ship and finding the crocodile was so fun for her and us. They’ve done an amazing job of making this space so whimsical for kids. I cannot say enough good things about Moat Brae. If you are ever in Dumfries, you have to visit! Thank you for such a memorable experience. These are definitely core memories for our daughter!

Date of experience: November 2023
Thank AtlasAdventured
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moat B, Manager at Moat Brae - Birthplace of Peter Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2024

So glad you enjoyed your day with us! The theatre and chasing Tinkerbell is always enjoyed by the younger people (and some of the older ones too). The house and garden are truly inspirational as proven by the young JM Barrie and the inspiration it gave him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2023

Having grown up having stories of Peter Pan read to us, we just had to visit “Moat Brae” - the birthplace of Peter Pan, so to speak. This is where JM Barrie and his friends used to play pirates and where the inspiration of Peter Pan and Tinkerbell came about. The playground isn’t huge but with climbing trees (sadly one of the original trees has died), the sloping bank and the river on the other side, you could see how perfect a place it was for an imaginative mind to create such stories. The house has been converted into the National Centre for Children’s Literature and Story Telling, with the rooms being dedicated to various authors, with some rooms being interactive. At the top of the house is a wonderful Victorian Dolls’ House that was created and built by Linda Brown who we actually met while on our way to the house.
We had afternoon tea in the cafe downstairs - a delicious scone and a pot of tea. There are quizzes which children can answer after their tour and there is a good affordable book store and gift shop there too.

Date of experience: July 2023
2  Thank Althea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Moat B, Creative Intern at Moat Brae - Birthplace of Peter Pan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2023

Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and afternoon tea, and we hope you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2023 via mobile

What a wonderful place,for someone who works in a library and loves books since childhood you could see and feel the inspiration here.With all the history and architecture, accompanied by lots of lovely reading hidey holes and rooms to read in, it's a fabulous place for children,but also for adults.Lovely gardens,cafe and outdoors areas to play.A real asset to Dumfries and well kept,all staff friendly and proud,and rightly so!

Date of experience: September 2022
1  Thank hairdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2023 via mobile

A big let down really to what I expected. The garden was once beautiful, I can tell, but it looks overgrown with weeds now and not very inspiring. The house has been restored beautifully, but it's really just exhibitions of children's literature. I expected a bit more of JM Barrie himself rather than what is just a children's library and play area.
Would have been good if I had a small child I suppose, and the cafe was lovely and reasonably priced.
£10 entrance is way too much for what you actually get to see.
If the garden was tended to and it was a more reasonable price to visit, I'd think of giving it an extra star. Shame, but glad they managed to save the building from demolition as it's a stunning bit of architecture.

Date of experience: May 2023
1  Thank Shenonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews