We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem”

Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dumfries
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #18 of 52 Dumfries B&B and Inns
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

This B&B is in Bankend, a small village near Dumfries. It is on National Cycle route 7 and near to the Wildfowl & Wetland Trust reserve at Caerlaverock. The house is spotless and the rooms are great. More importantly, the hosts are welcoming and good company. You get woodpeckers on the bird feeders, which you can watch while eating your, excellent, breakfast. Great place for birdwatchers and cyclists but well placed for general tourism of this area of Dumfriesshire.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 December 2012
We really are pleased to have good folk such as youselves stay with us, who enjoy and appreciate the natural beauty and tranquility of our countryside. And those birds!! The more we feed them the more they multiply. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We only stayed one night and wished it could have been longer. Our room was very comfortable and well decorated. As we went with friends it was great to have the use of guest lounge after we had come back from our evening meal. The breakfast was very nice, plenty of options available and set us up for the day at WWTCaerlaverock site. Lynn and Kevin are great hosts and provide ample information on the surrounding area. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1971ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
We appreciate such positive comments and it was a real pleasure to have you stay in our home. Hope to see you again soon so we can catch up chatting about your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We were recommended to this property by the WWT at Caerlaverock and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.Early June is a good time to be in Dumfries and this lovely house and garden were a joy. The breakfast was really well cooked, the bedroom delightful and the hosts kind and welcoming .Good value and a great recommendation

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind comments. So many more birds are now visiting our garden since we installed some extra feeders.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Very friendly, lovely rooms and home cooked breakfast.
Breakfast is by far the best!( so many choices as well).
Owner lady is very lovely and friendly I think she said she was from South Africa:)( her husband is also very friendly)
The room is fantastic, warm and and the bed is very comfy(plus a high quailty linens and electronic blanket(very good one).
We arrived on very cold day so it was extra nice.
Room is very clean and there is a space for the big suitcases and all.

One one thing we missed was a nearby pub but who needs that if you have a lovely room:).

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you so much for your generous comments and we too wish that pub in the adjoining village of Glencaple could move to our little hamlet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Hutton lodge, Lynn and Kevin were excellent hosts and made us very welcome.

The room was good and the breakfast excellent. Nice to have a separate guest lounge to relax in during the evening.

Overall excellent value for money and we highly recommend Hutton lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregb023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
So glad we were able to provide you with a good rest and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We're delighted that you enjoyed staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

Just a spur of the moment decision to stay in the Dumfries area to do some birding. This B&B is literally a mile and a half from Caerlaverock (WWT Centre) and what a hidden gem.

We were fortunate that Lyn & Kevin had a room available at only 24 hours notice. The room, although small was extremely comfortable with all the little luxuries you would hope for. The breakfasts were enormous and kept us going all day until our evening meal and we had to request smaller portions on our last morning as we were travelling back home all day by car! Our host and hostess were so very kind, polite and gracious. A lovely well equipped guest lounge is available, so, not like many B&B's no need to stay in your room if not going out.

The area around is beautiful and with other birding sites, a good area to visit.

Thanks Lyn & Kevin - we hope to make it back someday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Broojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin W, Owner at Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you stay when you visit the Wetlands Wildfowl Trust again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 8 in Dumfries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
4.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
5.8 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
10.8 mi away
Townhead Hotel
Townhead Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lockerbie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Hutton Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bankend Road | Bankend, Dumfries DG1 4AP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Dumfries
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional sandstone Victorian ex-school house in rural setting 5 miles from the centre of Dumfries near the WWT and Caerlaverock Castle, on the Solway/Burns Heritage Trail and SUSTRANS cycle Route 7 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hutton Lodge Bed And Breakfast Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing