We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was terrible.”
Review of The India Palm

The India Palm
Ranked #36 of 133 Restaurants in Dumfries
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food was terrible.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I had chicken Rogan Josh and my partner had prawn curry. My dish did have chicken in it but somehow there was no flavour at all and was an much hotter than any that I have ever had before in my 40+ years of eating this dish. It was impossible to determine if the tomatoes, green peppers or onions were there as apart from from the flavourless chicken everything else was a lurid red mush. It was a colour that does not appear in nature. My partners prawn dish had the same lack of flavour which was a considerable achievement.

The manager I complained to claimed that fact that there was no detectable flavour in the meals was because of the style of cooking so if you want to be served a curry that it is imposable to taste this is the place for you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Herman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    69
    15
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not as good as Expected”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The food was actually quite tasty, however the whole dining experience was far from tasty. We were forgotten about with our popadoms (the first item of our meal), then the Rogan Josh (detailed as being made with chopped tomatoes) turned up pureed! Then - after being forgotten about again, got overcharged for our meals.

That said, the manager couldn't offer enough apologies - but I'll definately not be back whenever I go to Dumfries again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sunday buffet”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

friendly service, food plentifull and good value for money.buffet warm and good variety. always a very warm welcome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian cuisine available”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Fantastic staff,very welcoming and accommodating. Very authentic food and brilliant selection. Could not fault anything about this place and i have frequented it very often indeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maetrx123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tip Top Food”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Paid a visit with friends to this restaurant last week, a very busy restaurant but we were attended to straight away, seated and drinks brought to us quickly and the food order taken, the starter was very good and the mains just out of this world,,the garlic naan was the best i have ever had, mouth watering just to think of it. Actually , cant wait to go back, and will on my next visit to Dumfries. My main course was a garlic chicken, just great .. thanks India palm Tip Top food. Got to be the best in Dumfries.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DTBluebells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The India Palm also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The India Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing