We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Station Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and we were more than happy with this hotel. Good sized, clean room with a clean bathroom albeit a tad small. Would happily stay here again. Parking was readily available at the front of the hotel. Check in and check out process were really quick and smooth.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank HMacS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Good location, within walking distance of the centre and next to the railway station. A good nights sleep, good beds. Staff helpful. Would stay there again. Disn't eat there, so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Everything in this hotel is modern and well maintained - and yet it retains an air of the splendours of a bygone era. The staff are without exception kindly, caring, helpful and efficient. Both our own room and the communal areas were very very good. The restaurant had an excellent range of dishes on the menu and they were prepared and served to a high standard.
Parking facilities are excellent and the hotel, as the name suggests, is literally yards from the railway station. We were in a room overlooking the front of the station and were totally unaffected by any noise from trains or buses.
If I had one slight grizzle it would be that the passageway from the lift to the dining room is somewhat stark and functional compared with the rest of the hotel. Even as I write this I feel it is a bit picky, but there you are.
I understand the hotel may be changing ownership soon. I hope they don't change very much about the hotel.

Room Tip: The train noise was non-existent for us, but if you are super-sensitive, ask for a room away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pplusj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had a lovely over night stay here. We were upgraded to a superior room with a four poster bed and a jacuzzi bath. The room was lovely, it was very fresh and beautifully decorated. The whole hotel was in great condition, we've stayed in many older hotels with tatty, tired decor but the decor here was in great nick. The staff were superb, very friendly and helpful. The food in the bistro was nice and the cooked breakfast was excellent. All in all we would definitely go back here.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mowal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great hotel, bit old world but this adds to the charm. Nice comfortable rooms. Excellent dinner and breakfast menus served in the Bistro restaurant. Staff very helpful and friendly. Used this hotel for a one night business stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gadgetScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Only stayed one night on our way north. Building is one of the original Station Hotels that used to exist in most towns. It still retains it beautiful features. Our room was upstairs and faced the station but this was not a problem. Very comfortable room with two armchairs to relax in. As it was a Sunday we had an evening meal in the restaurant. My husband said it was the most tasty beef he had had in a long time. I had fish and both meals were very nice. Breakfast was also very good with a varied choice. Car Park was right outside and free to residents. The staff were very friendly and gave us a map and details of a walk around the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flexiworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

having read some of the negative reviews about the staff we were not expecting too much. We were totally wrong to assume as this was a fantastic stay where the staff seemed to be genuinely interested in us and making our stay first class. The room was clean with a huge bed which was so comfy! Our first nights meal was part of the package and exceeded expectations it was quality cooked to order food and we were not disappointed. Would definitely go back here and would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: 2nd floor room 26
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
6.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
333 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station Hotel

Address: 49 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Station Hotel is a gorgeous Victorian Railway hotel offering 3-star accommodation just a few minutes' walk from Dumfries town centre. Guests give us great feedback for our excellent food and friendly service . All rooms have flat screen freeview TVs, ironing centres and wired internet and there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Best Western Station Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing