We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Station Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

very welcoming, friendly staff, close to things to visit, close to train station, close to car hire place. food good and well presented, rooms are clean and tidy, bed was comfy, tv in room, coffee tea making facility in room bar prices are reasonable close to the m74

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank jimlad54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel on Friday 31st January 2014 and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. From the minute you walk into the hotel to be met by a very friendly lady who talks you through the facilities of the hotel. I found all the staff in this hotel very friendly and helpful and they go that extra mile to help you with anything you ask of them, all this done with a smile on their face.
The room we were allocated was very nice with a very comfortable bed and the room was comfortably warm and very clean.
We had our evening meal and once again the standard was very high as was the breakfast in the morning.
I know where i will be laying my head on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeMrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed at the Station Hotel during a business trip in January 2014. The hotel was recommended by a colleague who had stayed there before. It's located close to the middle of Dumfries and has lots of free parking.

I found all the staff I encountered to be attentive and friendly. My room was small but perfectly comfortable and scrupulously clean. The room had a flat screen TV on the wall, a desk, wardrobe, comfortable bed with lots of pillows and a somewhat temperamental reading lamp The bathroom had a good, powerful shower. There was secondary glazing inside the sash windows so there were no problems with outside noise from the street or the railway. I couldn't pick up the free wifi in my room but this didn't bother me too much.

I ate at the hotel restaurant both nights of my stay and found the food to be of good quality and reasonable value. The cooked breakfast in the morning was nothing special but the service was good.

The hotel has a solid Edwardian feel and a good amount of character. I find travelling for work to be pretty horrible but it's made a lot less horrible if you stay somewhere nice. The Station Hotel certainly ticks that box and I'd be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRS_Dundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AileenMcGhie, Owner at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Best Western traveller
11
Reviewed 19 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank A Best Western traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Attended the Rotary Club of Dumfries Devorgilla's annual Xmas Dinner last night. Had the seafood cake starter and the roast turkey and all the trimmings as the main course. Turkey at christmas can be a gamble in some establishments but not here, Cameron the chef did a great job turning out a hot meal, succulent meat and a lovely gravy/jus. The cheese and biscuits were good, loved the camembert but the blue cheese a tad strong for my taste. The service was friendly and we were well looked after. All in all a great night, superb value for money, great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
6.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
332 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station Hotel

Address: 49 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range: £69 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Station Hotel is a gorgeous Victorian Railway hotel offering 3-star accommodation just a few minutes' walk from Dumfries town centre. Guests give us great feedback for our excellent food and friendly service . All rooms have flat screen freeview TVs, ironing centres and wired internet and there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Best Western Station Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing