We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Station Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. All of the staff are very professional and welcoming, and the food at the Bistro was of a very high quality. Our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious and Aileen provides a personal touch that other Best Western hotels I have stayed in did not provide. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will no doubt stay there when I return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights 13/5-14/5/14. Excellent location in terms of railway station and Dumfries town centre. Food very good , especially breakfast.
Rooms bright and airy and very clean. Aileen the receptionist very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for her. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank HullPmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Good tasty rib eye or sirloin steak cooked to specification (for 2) inc bottle house wine (£29.95): We opted for the Chilean Merlot, which was pleasant. Service excellent, restaurant decor / ambience: good. We added 2xstarters & desserts and bill came to £50 in total. We've opted for average but really want to rate it as good (which there isn't an option for). The starters /desserts fell short of a 'very good' review

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Eeezagoodgeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AileenMcGhie, Owner at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Travelled up to for the ice hockey Playoffs in April 2014 and although this hotel was a bit pricey compared to some of the others in the area (£65 a night) I figured I would treat myself to a nice hotel for a change. The hotel is right outside the train station so it is easy to locate once you step of the many services that go through the town.

The receptionist on the first night was the owner and she was a very pleasent. She went into the brief history of Dumfries and the outlay, and ended it by saying "enjoy your stay"......the only problem was that at that point she hadn't given me the key or told me which room I was in. Made me laugh in a way. Upon ascending the stairs to the top floor I was greeted by a fantastic view from my room.

The room itself (Room 40) was adequate for one person, with a reasonably sized TV with the majority of the freeview channels on there. However, there were one or two things about the room I was less than impressed by. The first was that it was filthy, there were mini-eggs all over the place and there had been virtually no care given to the toilet/shower room, which was covered in hair. What was more annoying was that the shower head had clearly become detached at some point in the past and reattached with duct tape. As soon as I turned the shower on the water force it's way through the gaps in the tape and subsequently made having a shower pretty much impossible as the head kept on dropping to a point where it was showing back on itself.

Getting to sleep was fairly easy but staying asleep was another matter as a lot of freight trains went through the station throughout the night, so if you're not a heavy sleeper then you might struggle to get a decent night's sleep.

The morning came around and I headed down for breakfast. You could help yourself to the cold buffet, although not a lot was on offer, and you could also have a hot breakfast. The food was very reasonable and the sausages were very nice indeed. I soon headed out and the hotel is located just a few minutes walk from the town centre, which is very convenient.

Upon my return my hotel room had been tidied, as had the bathroom, but there were still mini-eggs in various locations around the room.

Overall it's not a bad hotel and I wouldn't rule out staying here again as my hockey team play away in the town (against Solway Sharks) on a regular basis, but I hope if I stay here again that they have made sure that the rooms are clean and the shower heads fixed when broken.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njackson84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AileenMcGhie, Owner at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest
I am extremely sorry and extremely embarassed about your experience at my hotel last weekend. If only you had called down to let me know when you got to your room, I would have moved you to another - clean and egg-free - room without hesitation. Our Housekeeping team normally receive great praise and are very apologetic for their mistake. We look forward to seeing you on another occasion and assure you of our best attention. Please do not hesitate to be in touch if I can be of further assistance. Regards, A McG

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Booked a room for which the check-in time was 2.00pm. I arrived a little after 2.00 and was told (very apologetically ) that the room was not quite ready yet. I didn't have much of a problem with that as I could do some work for half an hour. I was shown to a table in the bar and offered a cup of tea. Some 10 minutes later the receptionist told me that the room was going to be about another half an hour so she had upgraded me to a twin room that was ready (I had booked a single). As other reviews have stated, the hotel is a little 'tired' (though spotlessly clean) but made up for by the quality of service from all the staff !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradfordLadBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dumfries hotels
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#4 of 7 in Dumfries
1,092 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
336 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station Hotel

Address: 49 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range: £69 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Station Hotel is a gorgeous Victorian Railway hotel offering 3-star accommodation just a few minutes' walk from Dumfries town centre. Guests give us great feedback for our excellent food and friendly service . All rooms have flat screen freeview TVs, ironing centres and wired internet and there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Best Western Station Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing