We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sleep I've had in months!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Station Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I always read reviews on Trip Advisor and have learned to take them with a grain of salt. I find that people complain about the most trivial things like 'the room decor was outdated' or 'there were only 2 complimentary shortbread cookies in my room....' This review is based on what matters most to me when staying in a hotel; service, cleanliness, and comfort.

My wife and I were travelling through Dumfries and decided to stay here because of the convenient location and good value. We we very happy with the service we received and absolutely loved the bed in the room (28). The bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable, and even though we were overlooking the train station the room was quite quiet. I am a very light sleeper and this hotel gave me the best sleep I've had in months. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. I personally like the historic feel and look of the building, too many new hotels all feel quite cold and corporate to me. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who wants to have a great night sleep at a good rate. I did not get to sample the menu as we are pub fans, but the area has a lot to offer on that front.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewTC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed for two nights at this hotel. Had Room 23 which was more than adequate space wise. Lovely comfortable bed. The room however urgently needs to be redecorated. The housekeeping was very, very poor. Our room was not hovered on the second day and we found that the towels were not changed - despite leaving one in the bath to show we needed it changing. Dust covered the lampshades beside the bed and dust layered the top of the headboard, which proved these had not seen a duster for quite some time !!! Breakfast was excellent and staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaBurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AileenMcGhie, Head Housekeeper at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest, I am the new Head Housekeeper as of last week and it is my duty to ensure the cleanliness is up to scratch. I am extremely sorry for the lack of attention in the room you stayed in. I am putting routines in place to make sure that this will not happen again. I promise that the next time you visit with us your standards will not only be met but exceded. The hotel is also working on an exciting programme of re-furbishment, with Room 23 being high on the list of priorities. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just arrived back from the Station hotel after a 3 day anniversary break.Our room number 23 was enormous with a massive bed and plenty of pillows one of the most comfortable beds we've slept on in a hotel and we've been to quite a few!!! The room was a bit dated but we didn't mind. The wardrobe was in a bit of an awkward place. The staff were very friendly especially Terry who answered all our questions on where to go and how to get there (hope you enjoyed Elton John Terry) the food was also some of the best we have eaten in any hotel 5 star for food and service!! A very relaxing and welcoming atmosphere. There are about a dozen steps leading up to the hotel and revolving door which make it quite difficult with luggage I'm sure you could have assistance but it wasn't offered. There is a level entrance round the front but we only discovered this after check in. On the second day of our stay housekeeping did not change our towels just folded dirty ones and put them back on the rail even though I had put them in the bath to indicate I wanted them changing also no plastic beakers or bin liners. One more point I think there is a need for an anti slip bath mat as the bath can be very slippy when wet. All in all the good outweighed the bad and if we go to Dumfries again we will definitely stay at the Station hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pennywise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank grandmapooh53
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AileenMcGhie, Owner at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My first impression was positive...checked in by very pleasant lady, room adequate, plenty of hot water...however as my room was on the station side I got virtually no sleep until the early hours, due to trains, buses and guests slamming doors. ! I asked for a quieter room but there were none available even though I had requested a quiet room at time of booking. With earplugs not so bad second night. My request for some of my own bread to be toasted on the morning of my departure was refused, for 'health and safety' reasons. This has never presented a problem in other Hotels, and I found this rather mean spirited, particularly since the tone in which this was delivered suggested I'd asked for the contents of the safe. A message awated me on my return home to call, which I did, and felt I was being mildly chastised for leaving 'without paying' even though, as mentioned by staff when I left, 'my card would be debited' and as in fact it had been. Quite extraordinary and this is not somewhere I would consider staying at again for the reasons outlined.

Room Tip: Avoi station side rooms if light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bluevegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AileenMcGhie, Owner at Best Western Station Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest
I'm sorry we disappointed you and would like to apologise for the communication confusion re settling your bill. Kind regards, Aileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Some would be put off by the vintage appearance of this hotel. We loved being there the night of 25 May! Obviously the hotel has seen some history. The rooms are well-appointed and clean. Our bed was comfortable and the bathroom was modern. We rested well even though our room was facing the railway side of the hotel (and the railway station is across a small street from the hotel). The building has a charm about it that is not generic. Our tour took our evening meal in the dining room. The breakfast staff was a bit overwhelmed with all of our tour arriving to eat at approximately the same time but they served us well and the breakfast was good. Though it took an inordinate amount of time for all of the tables to receive their food, the food was good. The lift is completely adequate for individuals. We traveled as a tour on a motor coach but the hotel seemed to be centrally located. It would be ideal for tourist traveling by railway.

Room Tip: We were a few floors up, on the railway station side of the building, and we were not disturbed by n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Dumfries
Travelodge Dumfries
#6 of 7 in Dumfries
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
665 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Station Hotel

Address: 49 Lovers Walk, Dumfries DG1 1LT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dumfries
#2 Business Hotel in Dumfries
#3 Romantic Hotel in Dumfries
Price Range: £73 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Station Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Station Hotel is a gorgeous Victorian Railway hotel offering 3-star accommodation just a few minutes' walk from Dumfries town centre. Guests give us great feedback for our excellent food and friendly service . All rooms have flat screen freeview TVs, ironing centres and wired internet and there is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dumfries
Dumfries Best Western
Best Western Station Hotel Dumfries, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing